Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
108
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2012
i read a preview of this book and it seemed good so i bought it and once i picked it up it was hard to put down.whoever likes historical romances would like this book.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
My favourite period in history and it was brought to life very well in this book. A very enjoyable read giving an in depth look at what Nell Gwynne's life was probably like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
A Superb read. A young child trying to make a better life for herself, used by men, until she becomes wiser and returns the favours to which she becomes self sufficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
A good plot very well presented, in places very amusing. This really is my type of book and will defiantly
be on the lookout for more of the same from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
When I first saw mention of the upcoming release of The Darling Strumpet , a novel on Nell Gwynn, I knew immediately I had to read it. You see, she's my favorite royal mistress and I try to read everything I can on her. Being a debut novel I wasn't sure what to expect, but I need not have worried because author Gillian Bagwell blew me away!!

The Darling Strumpet recounts Nell's impressive rise from the streets of London to the most coveted position in the land, that of mistress to King Charles II, the Merry Monarch and tells it in such an entertaining way that the reader is kept in absolute rapture from start to finish! Nell's spirit was captured perfectly by Bagwell and this book just reminded me why I adore Nell so much. Her tenacity, keen wit and charm, big heart and refusal to make amends or feel ashamed of her role as royal mistress make her so likable, you can easily see why she was a favorite of Charles II.

Being that the novel is just as juicy as the orange on the cover and with knowing that there are many YA readers that visit this blog, I feel I would be remiss in not disclaiming that there are some pretty racy scenes. They didn't bother me so much and I didn't feel they overwhelmed the story but they are pretty detailed, so I just thought I would mention it.

I enthusiastically recommend The Darling Strumpet and if her debut novel is any indication of the fabulousness we can look forward to in future books by Gillian Bagwell then consider me hooked!!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Loved this book although the slang terms used seemed a bit misplaced for the time depicted. Good way to learn about and appreciate the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
I loved this book. It was one of the best books I have ever read. I couldn't put it down. I didn't want it to end. Highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
I I've anything to do with history and the people involved in the stories. This is a great read and I thoroughly enjoyed every page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Enjoyed te red. Thought there was a little to much poetic licence in places but it has given me an interest into the period and the charicters of the time. I have spent a lot of time resurchin them today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Book was a very good read, throughly enjoyed it all the way through. Would recommend this book to read to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here