Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2012
(Despite there being so many favorable reviews I felt compelled to to write another.) If you like ripping yarns that go at breakneck speed you'll love this book. There is a real feeling of camaraderie among the insouciant gang of spies, who are masters of disguise, full of courage and originality. The heroine is fearless and intelligent, willing to use all her resources. The book will sweep you along. It is full of humour without being silly. I cannot wait to read the others in the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
I enjoyed every aspect of this book. It was original and inspired. If you like writing by an intelligent author then buy this book.

The story, while told in the third person, very closely followed Annique's own point of view and what a wonderful character she was! I thoroughly enjoyed Annique's "voice" and the quirky French way she thought and spoke. Annique had such a refreshing and original personality with a brilliant mind and the most fantastic sense of humour.

I thought the plotting was marvellous and the whole story was strongly connected to its time in history, where so much was at stake. The twists and turns were utterly inspired without feeling contrived.

I got a strong feel for every single character in the story. They seemed so alive and everybodies motivations felt very real.

For me, there are just too many good points to list. You can feel that the author has researched and researched (As Annique would say), and has spent a lot of time just thinking about this and plotting it out. A truly creative piece of work. Joanna Bourne should feel very proud of herself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
Great from the first page til the last, was not expecting to enjoy this book bought it by reading the reviews on amazon and was not disappointed at all!! the plot line was great and the unexpected twists. Really enjoyed reading this page and finished it in one seating reading till 4 in the morning. A brilliant debut by the author hope to see more of the same!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
Yes, the cover is lurid and as one reviewer put it ,you do have to suspend belief: but for heaven's sake,I wasn't expecting it to be 'War and Peace!' For sheer entertainment and pure escapism, it's a fun book to curl up with and simply indulge in a bit of old fashioned romance.The writing flows easily from the author's pen, unlike so many 'recommended' books I have attempted to read in the past, when I've hardly progressed further than page one and I really didn't want it to end. Roll on the next one, I say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2008
What a delight this book is! A real page turner with a plot that spins off in tangents rarely found in this genre. I really recc this book she is an exciting writer who creates amazing characters and puts them into situations that will make your toes curl!

Awesome book - ignore the cheesy cover and title and buy this!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Brilliant opening chapter, setting up for the rest of the book. I found it very easy to visualise what was going on, the interaction between the characters. These books are not 'Scarlet Pimpernell' by any means. And when you reach the last book, ahhhh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
Very clever! I loved this book. Great characters, great story line. Not the usual cookie-cutter theme. I was sad when the book ended. I'm always looking for another great author and I have added Joanna Bourne to my "must read" list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
i thouroughly enjoyed the characters in this series I also liked the setting looking at the French revolution and our attitudes to the events there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Despite the trashy cover, this is a good story with interesting characters and plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2008
Leblanc tortures spy maestro Annique The Fox Cub Villiers demanding she give him the Albion plans that Vauban gave her in Bruges to take to England. Annique is the best at the espionage game especially when it comes to checkmating men so since she has no plans to die here, she must find a way out of this mess. She has outplayed every male opponent with ease and wouldn't be in this he11 ho1e with the d3vil's spawn if her elderly associate was not so desperate; still she expects to win every time though right now she lingers in a French prison and ponders how to escape.

British spymaster Robert Grey is assigned the task of abducting the infamous Cub in order to interrogate her to learn what she really knows and who gives her orders. Thus he enters the same French prison where she is currently a resident and meets the renowned Cub. This is a case of hate at first sight in spite of an attraction. However they both conclude they need one another to escape their jail, which they do. As they flee across France they begin to fall in love, but their various enemies and some alleged allies pursue them with one thought ki11 the spies.

Although The Fox Cub seems very vulnerable and not quite the invincible professional that she allegedly is, THE SPYMASTER'S LADY is an exhilarating historical romantic espionage thriller starring two strong adversaries needing to team up if they are to survive those wanting them dead. The story line is action-packed, but belongs to the courageous lead couple who go from distrust to dependency to love. Joanna Bourne begins her legacy with a fine tale!!! I'd also recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here