Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 August 2017
Interesting story and it leaves you holding very much respect for these two guys. Only downside was as per usual the Americans held no respect for the British who had been In the war for two years fighting alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
Prompt delivery, very well written powerful book. I recommend you watch the tv show Band of Brother's first then read the book, this just helps you get a very very little understanding of what it must have been like. I don't really read active wartime books, but can't put this one down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2010
I totally agree with all the other reviews that this is a great book, whether or not you agree with what is written about the English contribution to the campaign.
A couple of years ago I had the honour and pleasure of meeting "Babe" Heffron at the American Cemetery in Luxembourg where General Patton is buried. He was over with a tour group from the US, following the route of the Band of Brothers across Europe (and doing pretty well considering his age!).We had quite a chat, as I am an accredited Luxembourg tour guide who also gets to show a lot of groups the cemetery and have reasonable knowledge of the Battle of the Bulge.When he realised I was English he said that he and the other guys were very pleased to have had the "Brits" alongside,they were great soldiers, but if there was one "Brit" they would have loved to put up against a wall and shoot it was that "b.....d Monty!
We all know that mistakes (some disastrous) were made by senior officers, Monty and Patton to name just two (and they, to put it as mildly as possible, hated each others guts, but generally the soldiers lower down the chain of command had respect and a feeling of comradeship for the other nationalities fighting alongside, even if sometimes, especially when things went wrong, they vented their feelings with a few good cusses.
Going to start reading the book again as soon as I post this review.
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2018
Very good read !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2017
I brought this book after watching the series and having a lot of unanswered questions. I couldn't put it down. The back and forth between the men have you laughing and crying. I've since ordered other books by the Easy company men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2017
As always arrived in advertised condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2012
The best thing about the book is that the author uses wthe words that bot men say. It is written like a conversation in their own words, no changing things for the sake of making it read stylishly. Just accurate reflection of how both men remeber things and how theu feel about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2009
this is just one of those books you cant put down.the way its written, its as though both authors are in the room talking to you.every emmotion leaps from the page, from the pride they had,to the horrors they saw.from the hardships they endured,to the awful conditions in which they had to live.and the love and admiration they have for each other,and everyone else that they served with.superb,and i have already ordered another copy for a friend.cant recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2008
A great read that fills in the blanks left by the Band of brothers book and tv series.
Political correctness takes a back seat and Bill and Babe say it as it was.
I felt that more could have been detailed about the different firefights which occured (especially on the Normandy drop.)
Bill touches on this very lightly by saying he was named Wild Bill after killing many Germans on D Day.

However, he doesn't go into any more detail other than admitting that he 'executed' two SS soldiers (on D Day) who had surrendered to him - with a bullet to the back of their heads. He then goes on to say that he has no regrets and feels no sorrow or remorse for killing them. (How many people would admit that in their book ?)

Been a Brit I didn't appreciate the comments stating that if the 101st were dropped into Arnhem then it may well have been a different outcome but hey, That's what makes this book such a good read.
They tell it exactly how they see it and don't hold out on there opinions (Especially on what they think of Monty !)

I know this isn't a review as such but I wanted to give a couple of examples as to the content of the book to give an idea of what you can expect.

As I said earlier this is a great read and I highly recommend buying it.

I give it 4 Stars but it is very nearly a 5.
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
William Guarnere and Edward Heffron are better known as "Wild Bill" and "Babe" from the 101st Airborne Division's Easy Company. We first met them in Steven Ambrose's Band of Brothers and then saw them portrayed in the movie of the same name. This book tells their life stories, beginning in the neighborhoods of Philadelphia, coming together in the chaos of WWII Europe, and continuing together as close friends back home.

These two friends offer perspective on some of the events in Band of Brothers, but most of the stories are uniquely theirs. They include:

- A girl chasing a departing troop train with suitcase in hand to catch up with her soldier--who she will never see again.
- Two soldiers filling jerry cans with water for their thirsty platoon and noticing human brains in the stream and water. There was no time to get water anywhere else.
- How far soldiers were willing to go to get rid of an officer they believed would get them killed on the battlefield.
- How American soldiers and officers fought and what they thought of their French and British allies.
- The common procedure for accepting the surrender of members of the German Gestapo.

These soldiers' stories have the same tone and repeat many of the same lessons about war that their fellow soldiers in Easy Company have shared. Soldiers did their jobs in all weather, without proper equipment, support, or ammunition. Often they fought out of loyalty and concern for the men around them as much as they did for their country. And when one of their comrades-in-arms died it affected them deeply and forever after.

This is a well-written memoir and is enhanced by the back-and-forth narrative between the two old soldiers. Readers will forgive them for bragging a little when interviewed by their female coauthor. It makes them seem young again and gives readers an unguarded glimpse of the boys they were when once they walked across Europe with their rifles in hand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)