Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
122
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2008
This is Chris Kuzneski's self published first novel. Former Special Forces soldiers Payne & Jones track down kidnappers and uncover a sinister money making scheme that goes beyond the usual ransom demands. Colourful characters, controvertial themes and some great action scenes make this an enjoyable read that moves along at a cracking pace. A star gets knocked off for the constant wisecracks from the two main characters which can quickly become tiresome and a couple of twists that can be seen a mile off. Overall, this one is actually better than the next in the series and is recommended to fans of action thrillers.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2009
I read Chris' other 3 books first, (Sign of The Cross, Sword of God and The Lost Throne) as The Plantation was only released in the UK this July (2009).
The Plantation is every bit as good as his other 3 books!
It starts off at a fast pace and never ends, it is simply 'un-put-downable'.
This book has everything, suspense, twists and turns in the plot, and an insight into what makes Payne & Jones this indestructable duo. Their humour, wit and fearless pursuit of what they believe in captivates the reader, and keeps the pages turning effortlessly.
Yet another Kuzneski masterpiece!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
The plot within this book is fairly original. A number of seemingly random abductions take place in various locations across the USA. It transpires that these crimes have been carried out as a means of sadistic revenge. However, the deeper reasons for these abductions are not truly unveiled until Jon Payne and David Jones (DJ) get involved in attempting to unravel the mystery. At the start of the story we are introduced to Jonathon Payne who is CEO of Payne Industries. We also get to meet his best friend David Jones who works as a Private Investigator. Before embarking on civilian careers, both of these guys had previously been soldiers who had formed part of an elite squad known as the MANIACs (made up of the best soldiers from the Marines, Army, Navy, Intelligence, Airforce and Coast Guard). As the story progresses, they get embroiled in the mysterious goings on in the Deep South and use all their cunning, logic and military expertise to try and unearth and stop the sinister activities being carried out at the plantation.
Yes, it's a somewhat far-fetched story but eh, its also a gripping adventure. It's got everything you want from this sort of novel - suspense, action, romance, likeable characters, despicable villains and lots of tongue-in-cheek humour. If you are looking for an easy to read book for the beach then look no further than The Plantation by Chris Kuzneski. Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
This book is a must for all those fans of Mr Kuzneski. Its got balance in the story and a good theme taht keeps you going for the length of the book. Up to his usual standard. A good book to shock and make you think as the story turns history on its head. I had a task to put it down as I wanted to know and read more.!! Five stars..
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
To start with a positive, the central theme is different and interesting. However it is well telegraphed and by page 54 you should be able to get 90%+ of the plot - one of the breathy reviewers on the jacket squeals "a great plot twist... all I can say is hang on for the ride". All I can say is don't, and preferably don't pay the entrance money. The plot twist doesn't turn up and you know what's happening an eighth of the way through the book.

There is some reasonable humour although it usually gets dragged down by clunky and obvious statements in the dialogue. This is compounded by the author's need to glorify the physically perfect (e.g. from p1: hero "eased his chiselled, 6'4"", 230-pound frame under the surging liquid") and uber-deadly violence of his main characters, using gushing language which at several points makes you want to yell "America - F - yeah!".

Amusingly the devastatingly professional killing brilliance of his (yet whimsically charming) heroes at times seems to utterly desert them, providing several moments of annoying inconsistency where scenes they should have handled with ease become complicated and compounded in the attempt to maintain the thread of the increasingly tenuous (and determinedly not twisting) plot.

So with dialogue which is often clunky and ripe for parody, and a plot which is obvious early on and forced through via several inconsistent scenes, this is definitely a book to avoid.

In the foreword the author tells us that this was his first novel, now re-written after his subsequent successes and re-released, claiming that he has corrected several errors that were in the first edition and which are typical of beginner authors. Hmmm. You missed a bit Christopher, quite a bit, but please don't re-issue a third edition
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
i started this book eagerly, being a fan of Chris Kusneski, unfortunately i was quite disappointed. the style of writing wasn't what i am used with his books and, although the characters are the same as the rest of his books they just weren't believable. if i had read this book as the first of Chris' works then i probably wouldn't bother to read anything else of his, fortunately i have read everything else he has ever written and they are brilliant
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
This was actually the second chris kuzneski book that I read first being the sign of the cross I haven't looked back. I now proudly own all of his book the complete payne's and Jones series and also the hunters series too which have all been read many times over. Would highly recommended these books and this wonderful author to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Excellent reading, in the same vein as James Rollins, another of my favourite authors, I just love Payne & Jones, love the banter that goes on between them, it gives a breathing space throughout the story helping the reader to cope with the intensity of the plot.
Compared to other books written by CK, The Plantation is a chilling read but manageable with the help of Payne & Jones.
Highly recommended for those into adventure, mystery and a gripping story.
I couldn't find anything to dislike about The Plantation, up to CK's usual standard.
I look forward to reading many more books that involve the duo of Payne &Jones
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
There were a few times throughout the book when I thought Mr Kuzneski had gone too far as some of the torturous punishments described were really brutal, however I totally appreciate how necessary to the story they all were.

It's hard to believe that the colour of our skin causes so much hatred across the world. The pain & suffering inflicted on slaves on the plantations is truly sickening & is captured so graphically in this book I was tearful several times.

I think I'll read something a bit less disturbing for my next read but I can assure you it won't be long before I get the second thriller in the Payne & Jones series.

Super read 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
Like most I have read the 3 previous books due to the order the books were released. I could go on about how addictive this read is and how you will not be able to put it down until its done with you but I won't. Please simply see for yourself...and if you haven't already get the other books too, trust me, you will be far from dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse