Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2011
This is the first book in the Crochet Mystery series- a typical American `cosy' mystery series with fun characters who you can really get to know and a plot that makes for light-hearted reading. This book introduces Molly Pink, a widowed bookstore worker who stumbles across a woman's body when she returns to her a crochet bag that has been left behind in the store. Police immediately suspect Molly of doing the nasty deed- and she has a motive- but Molly decides to do a little investigating of her own...

The plots of these cosy mystery books are pretty formulaic when you get down to it, but it's nice that some of them introduce a `crafty' angle or contain recipes. To be honest, you don't have to be a fan of crochet to like this book (I can't do it myself) but it might encourage you to give it a try! This book also introduces the crochet group `The Tarzana Hookers' which Molly decides to join for her first foray into crocheting. I'm looking forward to getting to know some of them better when I pick up book 2 of this fun little series- that's another good thing about these books: you really get to know the characters as each series progresses.

This book has great character development and a nice quick plot, which would make it ideal to curl up with if you have half an hour to spare, or want something to read whilst commuting- you can dip in and out of it at whim and still keep up with what's going on. I personally enjoy reading these in one sitting, especially at the moment. They're the ultimate in comfort reading (and real light relief after some heavier novels)!

**My personal recommendations for other cosy crafty mystery series if you like this one are `The Knitting Mysteries' by Maggie Sefton and the `Needlecraft Mystery Series' by Monica Ferris.**
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
I have the first two books written by Betty Hechtman and have enjoyed them immensely. If you love crochet and love murder mysteries it is a win/win situation! Excellent storyline and a cute pattern along with a tasty recipe. It just doesn't get any better!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 November 2015
This crafty murder centres around crochet and does actually make good use of the craft, not just use it to pad out chapters. We start with our protagonist, a lady in her middle years, finding a dead woman on an office floor. Our heroine Molly Pink has already had an eventful life and we see this unravel gradually as she gets to grips with the crime and with being a suspect for no good reason.

Molly turns out to be a widow and starting to date, with a police detective who is an admirer. Only, he is a little too used to controlling her life. He's divorced and between his son and Molly's two sons it can get confusing. The young people are all able to run their own lives and some resent their parents dating again. Molly used to be a partner in a publicity firm, but only after the death of her husband, and then she was squeezed out. Now with the manager of that PR firm dead, various people who used it, like a soap opera diva and a few writers, are unsure whether to take their business elsewhere.

The crocheting is done in aid of a charity as a blanket is made from squares over the course of the book, our heroine learning to craft from a beginners' kit with her pal Dinah so as to fit in with the local group while she snoops. There is one pattern and one recipe for a basic cake at the back. If you enjoy crochet and the territorial wars between crocheters and knitters, you will probably love this read which is also a reasonable cosy mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Molly Pink co-ordinates events at Shedd and Royal books, but ends up stumbling upon the body of Ellen Sheridan, leader of the crochet group and her late husband’s old business partner. Soon she is being targeted by the policewoman in charge of the investigation whose judgement is clouded by jealousy over Molly’s relationship with Detective Barry and feels like the only way she can get herself out of the sticky situation is to do some investigating herself.

What I liked about this book was that she takes up crochet and it documents her journey into learning different techniques and the slippery slope into yarn addiction. As a way of de-stressing she joins a crochet group who are struggling to make a blanket which is to be auctioned off for charity, as with most groups there’s a huge amount of politics to be tip toed around, not to mention the rivalry between crocheters and knitters.

I found Molly quite a tragic figure, while she was doing her best to carve out her own life, it seemed like the world couldn’t help but give her a few kickings along the way, not to mention a boyfriend who just wanted a housekeeper and a cook on tap.

The murder mystery part itself was cleverly made (even though the murderer was a peripheral character that was barely mentioned, which as a reader sometimes feels like a cop out) and it was only when there was a face off between the characters that everything fell into place and it went into scary movie territory – the ‘don’t go into the basement on your own’ kind of thing ;)

I would say that it was an enjoyable book that was OK, but didn’t necessarily hit all of the buttons. Still, as a crocheter I liked the descriptions about the way that they made the blanket and the crochet vs knitters show down. Let me know what you think!

Betty has her own website http://bettyhechtman.com/and Facebook page as well as photos of the crochet patterns – so get your hooks out!!
http://murdersheread.wordpress.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Light hearted easy reading. Love the fact there is a pattern and. a recipe included
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I loved this book, I've now gone on to buy four more. I'm hoping to have them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
Thank you, for your most excellent service.Please keep
your good work going.
The book looks very good, I shall enjoy reading it,
so thank you everyone very much.xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse