Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2006
John Merrick quits the Chicago Police Department when he kills an undercover officer during a bust. Even though he is cleared by the Grand Jury and Internal Affairs, John is unable to forgive himself. He can no longer even bring himself to pick up his gun. Instead, he now picks up a bottle. When John receives a call from Benjamin Wainwright in New Orleans requesting help to catch a stalker, he wants to say no. Instead, he heads to New Orleans.

Julia Wainwright owns and operates an antique bookstore. Ever since her literary erotica novel had been published a couple of months ago, she has been receiving threatening letters. The novel does not have her real name on it; it has her pseudonym, Elizabeth de Haviland. Only a few people even know that she is the author. Her father is certainly not one of those few! Her father, Benjamin, is about to be elected director of the Eternity Springs Ministries. Julia does not want her book to cause scandal for her dad. But someone knows and disapproves enough to stalk her. She finally agrees to let John Merrick help.

The threats start to escalate quickly. Whoever it is, the stalker is able to get into her store and her home, which is above the book store. The stalker seems to know everything about her and those around her. As the violence gets worse, Julia and John must learn to trust each other before it is too late.

***** This romantic suspense will give you cold chills. Though romance blooms later on within the pages of this tale, the suspense begins from the opening page. I found myself divided between the horror that torments John's past, as well as, from the fear and insecurity Julia feels from the stalker. Fantastic! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2006
John Merrick was a career cop, a good cop until one fateful night when he accidentally killed a fellow officer. The horror of that mistake overwhelmed him and he turned in his badge, left Chicago for his hometown of New Orleans and turned to a bottle for solace to help him forget the horrifying images of a fellow cop dying in his arms.

Julia Wainwright had long ago gotten over her schoolgirl crush for John Merrick. She had since become a very private and independent woman, an antiquarian bookseller by day and secret author by night. Lately she had become the target of threatening letters that led her to believe someone knew of her alter ego. As a favor to her father, John had been talked into looking into the matter to discover Julia's stalker. John's intention had been to offer a quick security check then turn the whole business over to someone else -anyone else but him. Though when he discovered Julia `all grown up' with gypsy blue eyes and a body fashioned for sin, turning the case over to someone else would no longer be an option.

The suspense of this well-written story was top-notch filled with an intriguing plot, plenty of vividly described action scenes that kept you turning the pages. The character definition was superior as well, so much so that this reader had no trouble becoming invested in the outcome of the mystery. However, with this said, I will also state that John Merrick was a not hero that I would have envisioned as a leading man and not one I could ever fall in love with. No matter the trauma, witnessing a man's journey to the bottom of a bottle is not romantic especially when it is so vividly portrayed. Obviously this is a catch 22 situation for an author when they can make the reader visualize the downside of a character's personality. Consequently, I didn't get a feel so much for romance between the two protagonists as a heavy dose of sensual lust. On the plus side, the stalker was drawn as a certifiably crazed madman and the author created situations that delivered edge of the seat imagery that are not for the faint of heart. Bottom line is you will be emotionally involved in this excellent thriller that should keep fans of Castillo coming back for more.

Marilyn Rondeau, RIO - Reviewers International Organization
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2010
After reading Sworn to Silence, which was excellent- fast paced and a great story I bought this book expecting it to be of equal calibre. I was disappointed. There were many times in the story when the exact same phrases were repeated and the characters were just not plausible. It was, I suppose, intended to be a more sensual/erotic thriller but it was third rate, tacky in places and I really didn't enjoy it- Back to Harlan Coben and Lee Child for me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2015
Very disappointing,especially after the Burkholder series. Formulaic, set piece characters, predictable scenarios, settings serving as backdrops for not very erotic eroticism!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2016
can not wait to open the first page to start my journey into the dark love her books and she tells a good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2010
Love the book . This is the 3rd book I have read by Linda Castillo and I love her style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2014
Brilliant I love all Linda's books rate them all five stars I'm a huge fan of her work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
enjoyed this very much.
LindaCastillo never disappoints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here