Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2010
The third in the highly compulsive 'Coffee House' mystery series by Cleo Coyle, and they really are just becoming even more addictive!

This book revolves around New York's Fall Fashion Week, where local designer Lottie has designed a range of 'Java Jewellery' and thus wants to have her fashion show at the Village Blend, Greenwich Village's premier coffee house which is managed by Clare Cosi. Fashion AND coffee? Sounds like a winning combination.

Certainly so... until a model is apparantly poisoned by a latte and keels over and dies right on the shop floor. The suspect? Clare's flamboyant barrista (and friend) Tucker. Uh oh...

Clare, with the aid of her former mother in law (and Blend owner) Madame, sets out to prove Tucker's innocence. The question is: will she succeed?

All the regular Blend characters are back in this novel, including Clare's sexy ex-husband Matteo, daughter Joy and the gruff detective Mike Quinn. Whilst the novel isn't too taxing in itself, it's always fun to narrow down the list of suspects and as a reader try and solve the mystery. A fantastic way to spend a couple of hours, and as ever the coffee making recipes sound scrumptious and the tips very useful!

Definitely buy this book, but not until you've read the others in the series- you need to get to know the characters and their background up until this point first. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
i've given this book two stars - and would do the same to the two others i bought as a sampling of this author's work - not because i hated it but because it is as light and frothy as the foam on a latte. Nice look, reasonable flavour but no substance.

These books are the put-your-brain-in-neutral light romance novels so beloved of Mills & Boon. If you want coffee recipes they are amusing but if you want a good detective story, where you can't guess the bad guy in the first three chapters, forget it.

Initially i found the the setting of the stories interesting - i love real coffee - but main character rather spiritless as she allows her old mentor and mother-in-law to manipulate her [willingly] and her over-macho, cheating ex-husband [unwillingly but unresistingly]. i wanted to shake her saying, 'Grow a spine, woman, and kick the sponger out!' Our heroine is, of course, beautiful, slim and as docile as a well-trained dog; no wonder the men find her so irrisistible!

i donated my copies to the Library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
I first heard of this book when Amazon paired one of my books, MILLENNIUM BABE: THE PROPHECY, with it. I just HAD to run out and buy it, and am I ever glad I did!
Author Cleo Coyle had a real brainstorm when she created this series. Who doesn't like their coffee served up with a good mystery, a few recipes and lots of cream and sugar ... served one cup at a time? And with the dessert being an intriguing love triangle that promises more ahead.
I haven't read the first books in this series, but I'm going to read them all while awaiting the next book.
Once I started reading Latte Trouble, I couldn't put it down. I hope you enjoy it too.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
To Clare Cosi's surprise the latest must-have fall fashion item is anything coffee themed. After Village Blend regular Lottie Harmon designs a hit range of coffee bean inspired accessories, she decides to host her Fashion Week promo party at the coffeehouse. The "Java Jewellery" quickly proves a hit, but when barista Tucker accidentally serves a poisoned latte to a guest Lottie's party takes a turn for the worst. Now with Tucker in jail, Clare is determined to prove his innocence and find out who the deadly drink was intended for.

This is the third Coffeehouse Mystery (after On What Grounds and Through the Grinder) and I must say I love this series. This time the focus is put on the fashion world, not as weird a pairing as it sounds as it focuses on a jewellery designer who designed her jewellery at the Blend. Clare's faithful barista Tucker ends up accused of murder in this book, so again Clare gets involved to clear his name.

Plot-wise the mystery is at the same level I've come to expect from these books and has lots of little twists and turns, not to mention red herrings. I did figure out a connection between a character and the mystery, although I didn't see the ending coming at all. Sadly the killer's point of view has been restricted back to a tiny prologue, and I must say I missed having little snippets throughout the book like in Through the Grinder.

Detective Quinn is mostly absent for this book, and it appears Clare's ex Matteo is going back to his old womanising ways so this book has a low romance count. There was also no mention of Clare's love interest Bruce from the previous book, although it is stated that this book is set a year after the first so there could have been a lot of time between the two. Clare's daughter Joy seems to be going off the rails, and at last Madame takes a bigger role which is brilliant and leads to some great scenes.

In terms of recipes this book includes the following The Village Blend's Caramel-Chocolate Latte, Clare's Foolproof Homemade Caramel-Chocolate Syrup, Cafe Brulee, Clare's Basic Biscotti (with variations for almond, anise and pistachio) and Ricciardelli, with The Village Blend's Guide to Roasting Terms.

All in all, this is a fun cozy read and I'm looking forward to reading Murder Most Frothy.

Plot: 9/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 9/10

Overall: 48/50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
A Coffeehouse Mystery by Cleo Coyle - Number 3 in the series - The Barista and the Fashionista. Clare Cosi and her Village Blend coffeshop have been chosen as the perfect backdrop for the launch of a coffee-inspired fashion collection by Madame's friend, Lottie. A poisonous latte served by Tucker finds him on murder charges and Claire getting involved to save her best barista and her coffeeshop. This story moves along with all the charm of Cleo Coyle's last 2 books and I really enjoyed reading this one. All the gang join in to help - ex-hubby Matteo,Daughter Joy and of course , Madame. Love interest, Mike Quinn, is there aswell. Lovely recipes at the back of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
The book was not in the stated condition. There was food...or something stuck to the bottom of the book. It seems like the former owner of the book ate while reading it and there are stains on the book and inside. I was quite disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2015
Good again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here