Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 17 October 2014
It's a book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 May 2004
The more you know about psychological theories and Winnie-the-Pooh, the more you will enjoy this book. Dr. Williams blasts away with tongue-in-cheek satire aimed at the psychologist's belief that everything that is said, thought, dreamed, and done has many layers of significance. Unfortunately, that approach means that your enjoyment will be modest if your knowledge is correspondingly limited in either area. If you know little about psychology and have not read Winnie-the-Pooh, you may not get most of the humor in the book.
In Freud-like fashion, Dr. Williams begins by descrbing the case for Winnie-the-Pooh being a super psychologist. The thrust of this argument is that Winnie employs every method ever recommended by any psychologist or psychoanalyst somewhere in his fictional adventures. In fact, he often combines them in a single fictional encounter.
The book then recounts seven cases and Winnie's role in them.
Case 1 -- Pooh Cures Christopher Robin of Arktophobia (fear of bears)
Case 2 -- Pooh Assists Piglet to Mature
Case 3 -- Pooh at His Most Eclectic with Tigger
Case 4 -- The Problem with Rabbit
Case 5 -- Parenting: Kanga and Roo
Case 6 -- Wol's Problems with Communication
Case 7 -- Eeyore: A Case of Classical Depression
The cases are written up like Freud's with the exception that they are illustrated with many drawings from the original Pooh stories.
As an example of the approach, the book Winnie-the-Pooh opens with a reference to his living under the name of Sanders. That is never mentioned again. Dr. Williams provides a lengthy argument in favor of this meaning that Winnie-the-Pooh is describing himself as the Sand man, the bringer of dreams. This is an indication of his role as psychotherapist.
In the famous story where Winnie eats too much honey and cannot get out of the hole in the tree, Dr. Williams reinterprets this as Winnie-the-Pooh making an example of himself to discourage others from overeating rather than using aversion therapy on them.
To put this prescience into context, Dr. Williams points out that the Pooh stories date in the 1920s. In the text, he finds "frequent anticipation of theories and practices which more plodding psychologists arrived at much later."
I don't know about you, but I didn't think much about Jung when I read Winnie-the-Pooh. Obviously, the references were too subtle for me.
Those who have experienced psychotherapy will probably find humor in the observations made about Winnie-the-Pooh that they may have heard applied to themselves. Could the observations be equally apt?
This book is best enjoyed by a roaring fire on a cold night with a warmed snifter of brandy, and savored slowly.
After you have finished the book, you might consider the many instances where novels do show ways to solve psychological problems through their fictional developments. Could it be that we can use fiction to be our own therapist? Or, is someone else the therapist? If someone gave you the book, perhaps they are the therapist. If so, is the author the propounder of the theory . . . or is the character?
See the possibilities for humor in pomposity everywhere!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
The most pathetic error of an art critic is not that he is wrong or misunderstands a work of art, but that he understands a work of art for which he has no true feelings for... Ramon Gaya
John Tyerman Williams sumptuous journey through winnie-the-poohs role as supreme psychologist is remarkable, entertaining and enlightening. Penned by an artist who has absolute feeling and compassion for his subjects, this book is an effortless and rewarding read. Irrespective of your knowledge of Jungian typology, Behavioural therapy, Gestalt psychology, Mr Williams guides us on a charming path, with sensual prose and profound analysis. This is one of those books I know I shall re-read with pleasure through the years.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
Can't argue with any of the above reviews. Professor Michell says in the first review, (and in my opinion rightly) "The more you know about psychological theories and Winnie-the-Pooh, the more you will enjoy this book" -but then adds- "Unfortunately, that approach means that your enjoyment will be modest if your knowledge is limited ..... If you know little about psychology and have not read Winnie-the-Pooh, you may not get most of the humor in the book".

True; but.......

For anyone who is suffering from Depression, struggling to either beat it or at least come to terms with it, this will probably have less relevence.

This may be the greatest Self-Help book for surviving, (if not Depression) certainly the Psychologists and Psychotherapists, ever written.
It certainly has been for me.

Even if some of the humour passes over your head, (and how will you (I) ever know if it does), this book has more going for it than humour!

It may be the best few quid you'll ever invest!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2000
Those of us who enjoy the happy world of Pooh and the hundred acre wood have never realized that the peace and harmony that reigns is the work of Winnie the Pooh. Author John Tyerman Williams reveals that Winnie the Pooh is a Super-Psychotherapist. Quietly and unobtrusively, Pooh sorts out the problems of his friends, so that Piglet learns not to be timid - and eventually becomes a hero; xenophobic Rabbit learns to love strangers; Tigger learns social skills; and even Eeyore finds the way out of depression. This clever, witty book is a delight - and as a psychologist myself, I can confirm that Pooh's skills are properly based on theory, though certainly amazing!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
The product was with me in a few days, excellent quality,
The product was as advertised in the description, very high quality, and would recommend this provider any day.

Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2003
Wow! I only started reading this book yesterday and already it's opened my eyes to the true genius of A.A.Milnes writing, though made for children, but with subtle undertones that the brilliant author John Tyerman Williams has pointed out to the world. Chapter two "Pooh assists Piglet to mature" is very good. It shows how Piglet starts out as a timid "Very small animal" to standing up for his own beliefs and facing his inner fear.
This book is great, anyone who loved Pooh as a child will love to read this, it will open your eyes. so in short
"Pooh is a super-psychologist who works cures for his friends' problems", READ IT.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
This is a perfect present for a psychologist - my daughter said it was her best Christmas present ... I dipped into it and found it very thoughtful. A lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Love the character flow an easy read that held humorous aspect to the end Felt funny knowing pooh is the character milne had the insight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
I had hoped for something a bit more entertaining. A bit on the heavy side for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse