Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 January 2017
This is a perfect present for a psychologist - my daughter said it was her best Christmas present ... I dipped into it and found it very thoughtful. A lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2018
Bought as a gift, she seemed to like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2017
I bought this for my daughter as she was studying psychology, she loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2013
The product was with me in a few days, excellent quality,
The product was as advertised in the description, very high quality, and would recommend this provider any day.

Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
Love the character flow an easy read that held humorous aspect to the end Felt funny knowing pooh is the character milne had the insight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
Thank you for the book. Very fast delivery and good quality. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2014
It's a book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 May 2004
The more you know about psychological theories and Winnie-the-Pooh, the more you will enjoy this book. Dr. Williams blasts away with tongue-in-cheek satire aimed at the psychologist's belief that everything that is said, thought, dreamed, and done has many layers of significance. Unfortunately, that approach means that your enjoyment will be modest if your knowledge is correspondingly limited in either area. If you know little about psychology and have not read Winnie-the-Pooh, you may not get most of the humor in the book.
In Freud-like fashion, Dr. Williams begins by descrbing the case for Winnie-the-Pooh being a super psychologist. The thrust of this argument is that Winnie employs every method ever recommended by any psychologist or psychoanalyst somewhere in his fictional adventures. In fact, he often combines them in a single fictional encounter.
The book then recounts seven cases and Winnie's role in them.
Case 1 -- Pooh Cures Christopher Robin of Arktophobia (fear of bears)
Case 2 -- Pooh Assists Piglet to Mature
Case 3 -- Pooh at His Most Eclectic with Tigger
Case 4 -- The Problem with Rabbit
Case 5 -- Parenting: Kanga and Roo
Case 6 -- Wol's Problems with Communication
Case 7 -- Eeyore: A Case of Classical Depression
The cases are written up like Freud's with the exception that they are illustrated with many drawings from the original Pooh stories.
As an example of the approach, the book Winnie-the-Pooh opens with a reference to his living under the name of Sanders. That is never mentioned again. Dr. Williams provides a lengthy argument in favor of this meaning that Winnie-the-Pooh is describing himself as the Sand man, the bringer of dreams. This is an indication of his role as psychotherapist.
In the famous story where Winnie eats too much honey and cannot get out of the hole in the tree, Dr. Williams reinterprets this as Winnie-the-Pooh making an example of himself to discourage others from overeating rather than using aversion therapy on them.
To put this prescience into context, Dr. Williams points out that the Pooh stories date in the 1920s. In the text, he finds "frequent anticipation of theories and practices which more plodding psychologists arrived at much later."
I don't know about you, but I didn't think much about Jung when I read Winnie-the-Pooh. Obviously, the references were too subtle for me.
Those who have experienced psychotherapy will probably find humor in the observations made about Winnie-the-Pooh that they may have heard applied to themselves. Could the observations be equally apt?
This book is best enjoyed by a roaring fire on a cold night with a warmed snifter of brandy, and savored slowly.
After you have finished the book, you might consider the many instances where novels do show ways to solve psychological problems through their fictional developments. Could it be that we can use fiction to be our own therapist? Or, is someone else the therapist? If someone gave you the book, perhaps they are the therapist. If so, is the author the propounder of the theory . . . or is the character?
See the possibilities for humor in pomposity everywhere!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2017
I had hoped for something a bit more entertaining. A bit on the heavy side for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2000
Those of us who enjoy the happy world of Pooh and the hundred acre wood have never realized that the peace and harmony that reigns is the work of Winnie the Pooh. Author John Tyerman Williams reveals that Winnie the Pooh is a Super-Psychotherapist. Quietly and unobtrusively, Pooh sorts out the problems of his friends, so that Piglet learns not to be timid - and eventually becomes a hero; xenophobic Rabbit learns to love strangers; Tigger learns social skills; and even Eeyore finds the way out of depression. This clever, witty book is a delight - and as a psychologist myself, I can confirm that Pooh's skills are properly based on theory, though certainly amazing!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse