Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 March 2017
This book is excellent and every teacher should read it. Even more importantly, every person on any kind of 'teaching and learning' team should read it.

That's all I am going to say, quite deliberately. The book is best read cold, and with an open, enquiring mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
I've heard a lot about this book. It didn't disappoint. It is very readable for such a heavy subject. It is also well researched, thought out and the arguments are well presented. A must read for teachers both practicing and training.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Research backed scathing account of how educationalists have got it so wrong for so long... and largely because of Ofsted. An insightful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Refreshing. Having been in education for over 15 years it was good to see what a lot of on-the-ground teachers would regard as common sense being championed: teach knowledge to students.

This book highlights common myths that are pushed in schools for the sake of being vogue. It is interesting, and does give a wide overview, but I would say that any teacher with a little experience would gently nod at the teaching methodology being riled against - and then go back to teaching knowledge.

The Ofsted examples used to show the lack of knowledge are what we teachers know we need Ofsted to say of our lessons. Ofsted is a currency and we trade best practice for those shiny grades come inspection time - the samples aren't how we teach the rest of the time. Like students in exams, we just learn to play that part of the game.

That over estimation of the importance of Ofsted items aside, the book is a good antidote for teachers who may only have been taught the skill based aspects of modern curriculums.

Knowledge is the core of everything - this book reminds us of that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Daisy Christadooulou may not be 100% right, but the objections she raises to today's educational practices deserve to be answered. Well researched with lots of examples and sources, this is a tightly argued book that should be read by everyone involved in primary and secondary education under the Ofsted regime.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
An excellent exposé of the bankruptcy of the 'just Google it' school of thought. Full of properly worked through evidence and reasoning to support ideas, all expressed lucidly and cogently. Great stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Absolutely illuminating! This book has left me questioning so many educational "truths" I have been led to accept. This has ignited my desire to investigate further. Plain speaking, brilliantly written. A must for anyone passionate about education. Thank you Daisy for posing questions that needed to be asked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
An interesting insight into education in Britain. A good read for all teachers, no matter how long they've been teaching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
A clear, readable and timely book. Quite an eye-opener, in terms of the supporting evidence provided, but chimes with what, as a practising primary teacher, I have been thinking for several years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Well researched, argued, written and referenced. If you think education is in crisis in England, you want to see it north of the border! A depressingly accurate book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)