Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



VINE VOICEon 30 March 2009
Philosophy: The Basics is not without its faults, but as a clear, concise and accessible introduction to philosophy it is quite outstanding. True, it's not difficult to extrapolate some of the author's own opinions, but I can forgive this because it's not much of a distraction and we're not studying any of the topics in great depth.

The book is divided into six discrete sections (God, Right and Wrong, the External World, Science, Mind, and Art); each topic is given a page or two of introduction followed by the arguments for and against each. It is the author's clarity of thought and economy with language that enables him to distil each topic down into its essential essences and what makes this book so clear and enjoyable to read. It is this clarity that is the book's strength and in my opinion it weakness. Why a weakness? Well, I found myself taken up by the pace of the book and reached the end feeling like the person that had just downed a glass of claret in one gulp, I found myself straining to recall the complexity of the flavour.

`Philosophy: An Introduction' is easy to understand and well written and is an excellent preface to further reading on philosophy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Great for the overall basics of Philosophy. It's good as it's divided into sections that you can skip or jump to if you're more interested in specific areas of morality. Lots of open-ended questions to keep you thinking. There's a lot in here to keep you busy and spark interesting discussion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Clear and thoughtful. A very good introduction or reprise of much of the territory. Consistently well-written and rarely contentious. A familiarisation without conclusions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
good service and value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Book is in amazing condition, looks brand new. Very quick delivery. Bargain price. Will highly recommend it to everyone. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 December 2007
Like 'Philosophy - the classics', this is an excellent book, reference and general reader. It gives a useful reading list at the end of each chapter.

The Basics takes a topic based approach, including Philosophy of : Science, Mind, Religion, the external world etc. and starts off by expounding the theory (say behaviourism) and then the arguments against it.

Warburton writes really clearly and this book is a useful resource for student and anyone interested in Philosophy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2006
I did a philosophy degree and I remember getting a bit dismayed by some of the books I had to read. Then I stumbled across this. In his introduction he writes that philosophy is often seen as harder than it actually is and this is because many philosophers aren't good writers.

This is 100% true and restored my faith in philosophy. Warburton is an extremely clear writer and covers the essential points is a lucid manner. If it's within the scope of this book then any essay you have to write, or topic you are interested in should begin with this book. Of course you will need others but this is a great starting point.

See also his 'philosophy: a-z' You might also find Bryan Magee's books useful and Bertrand Russell is a bit of a genius too.
0Comment| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2002
I have just completed an ethics and philosophy A Level for which I used this book. The book itself is clear and concise, making it excellent revision material. It covers all of the standard need to know topics and does so in an intelligent, factual manner! Definitly use this for A Level standards although I would not reccomend using it as a basis for research as it simply isn't detailed enough.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2016
Excellent non bias view of the various elements of philosophy explained in a easy relaxing and informative manner
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Warburton's book is an excellent introduction to Philosophy in several respects. The writing is very clear, accessible and understandable. Because it is short and well-written, it is capable of being read cover to cover as opposed to being used more as a reference. The organisation of the book by topics (such as god, the mind, politics, science and art) instead of philosophers works well for an introduction to the subject. The author only makes reference to philosophers, books or specialist jargon in the context of a clear explanation designed for a lay reader, and he helpfully includes at the end of each chapter a section on suggested further reading on the topic of the chapter. On the negative side, I feel the book is perhaps aimed at too low of a level such that it lacks sufficient spark to stimulate an interest in further reading on philosophy. In addition, the arguments for and against each theory across the chapters got a bit repetitive and laborious by the end of the book. Overall, I expect that this is one of the best books available for a high level introduction to Philosophy as a general subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse