Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 16 November 2011
744 glorious pages full of the Vikings and every thinkable aspect of their world ... who could want for more? Seriously, my only regret is that it's taken me so long to find this book.

This is a gathering of more than 50 papers under various main themes, written by some of the most authoritative writers in their various fields - the sub-themes cover:
People, society and social institutions
Living space
Technology and trade
Warfare and weaponry
Pre-Christian religion and belief
Language, literature and art
The British Isles
Continental Europe and the Mediterranean
The Baltic
Russia and the east
The North Atlantic
The coming of Christianity
The development of nation states

The 49 papers allow for a reader to dip in and out, to research; or to read a few papers at a time; allowing time to absorb this material at their own pace.

This is not a book for someone who has little to no knowledge of the Vikings or medieval Scandinavia and its surroundings. If you're looking for an introduction to the Vikings, you can't go past The Vikings by Else Roesdahl, and The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings by Peter Sawyer. But if you have the required level of knowledge and understanding, this is a book that will delight with its revelations.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Very good brief reviews of relevant archaeology and history from viking times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I agree wholeheartedly with the previous review. This is an excellent book, covering all aspects of the Viking age. I'm using it for my senior honours year in a history degree, so again I agree with the previous reviewer, and also agree with his recommendation for a introductory read on the subject. However, I would say that this book in general, despite the in-depth academic treatment of the subject, is still a straight forward and enjoyable read. I would recommend purchasing the hard copy as opposed to the kindle. Although bulky the hard copy is easier to search through the chapters. The way the kindle is set up makes searching awkward. I've used both, a library hard copy, and purchased the kindle version. That is my only regret of my purchase, stick with the proper book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 11 October 2015
744 glorious pages full of the Vikings and every thinkable aspect of their world ... who could want for more? Seriously, my only regret is that it's taken me so long to find this book.

This is a gathering of more than 50 papers under various main themes, written by some of the most authoritative writers in their various fields - the sub-themes cover:
People, society and social institutions
Living space
Technology and trade
Warfare and weaponry
Pre-Christian religion and belief
Language, literature and art
The British Isles
Continental Europe and the Mediterranean
The Baltic
Russia and the east
The North Atlantic
The coming of Christianity
The development of nation states

The papers allow for a reader to dip in and out, to research; or to read a few papers at a time; allowing time to absorb this material at their own pace.

This is not a book for someone who has little to no knowledge of the Vikings or medieval Scandinavia and its surroundings. If you're looking for an introduction to the Vikings, you can't go past The Vikings by Else Roesdahl, and The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings by Peter Sawyer. But if you have the required level of knowledge and understanding, this is a book that will delight with its revelations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
By bringing together short essays by the experts in each field, eg Hall on York, this book comprehensively covers all aspects of the Viking age. The bibliography on each chapter alone is worth its weight in hacksilver. The only element lacking is the recent genetic evidence which seems to suggest eg widescale Danish settlement in eastern and northern England and a greater Russian involvement than was known 5 years ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
This is an excellent book for anyone who wants to find out about the Vikings. It is a set book for my university course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
delighted with item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Intresting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)