Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2017
It is with mixed feelings that I click the third star, as this book has strong and weak sides.

Positive: it covers a sufficiently wide range of topics, and contains research questions, case studies, examples, &c., which greatly aid in understanding. It's relatively cheap, and very easy to read.

Negative: if you open the book too wide, the pages just fall out. The quality of the pages is fine enough, but the binding is horrid, and I would not recommend anyone paying full price if they could get it used.

I would recommend it for a lowered price, but not over Anthony Pym's "Exploring translation theories".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
I have heard from a lot of fellow students that the first chapter put them off completely with this book! Don't let it scare you, the following chapters are quite easy to read and learn. One of the way to deal with this problem is to skip the introduction completely for the first reading, it makes a lot more sense when one has read the whole of the book first. Munday has the habit of pack jamming a lot of information and what appears as random highlighting of words but once the reader gets used to it, this book is very good and definitely a valuable tool for anybody studying or just interested in translation studies.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I was recommended to read this book as part of the background reading for an MA course in translation that I've just started. It is most informative on the history of translation. The writing style is easy to understand, despite the complexity of the subject matter. I haven't tried the ITS website revision material yet but if it's anything like the book, it'll be useful, easy to use and a good way of revising the written material. I already have several books by the same publisher, Routledge, and find their style of presentation excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
This is a general textbook, perfect for those starting to study translation or anybody with an interest in the subject. It explains the main theories in the field in a clear and easy to understand way. Some things are overlooked or not explained in much detail, but it is overall a good read for those that are looking for a general overview of the main translation theories and need a book that points them to the correct secondary texts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
This is a comprehensive and clear introduction to the history and the ever-increasing forest of approaches and theories current in Translation Studies, with plenty of references to the relevant literature for every chapter. An academic, I found it a very useful course in Translation Studies. It can be used as the basis for a course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Great book with a comprehensive view on translation theory. Wish the binding was better though. After a few months of usage some of the pages are loose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
love this book, really clear chapters with amazingly helpful summaries at the end and online access to resources to help get your head around it all! Highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Good introduction to aspects of translation theory and their histories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I think this is book is a great introduction to all translation studies. IS clear, with examples, case studies and online extra support. Recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
This one is excellent for people who do not know anything about translation theory. It is also a very good reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)