Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2013
Although this seems to be aimed at secondary-school teachers, both NQTs and more experienced teachers would find this book useful. Barton gives an overview of current thinking about Literacy, with suggestions for Literacy co-ordinators and teachers of subjects other than English. The book is clearly organised so you can dip in to your particular area of interest, and Barton covers speaking and listening, reading and writing. He also broadens his remit to cover behaviour management in the classroom, which less-experienced teachers might find invaluable. I found his suggestions for encouraging active reading and helping pupils revise particularly useful.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
A common sense guide to excellent standards of literacy through good teaching. Full of practical and, accessible ways to get all staff involved in being teachers of literacy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
I liked Geoff's book so much I was inspired to write my own. A really excellent summary and a trove of practical ideas. Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
This is a highly readable and practical book on literacy for teachers at every stage of their career. The style is concise and practical and it wears its deep expertise with ease and polish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This is a great read: accessible, doesn't 'waste your time', great for trainees, NQTs and 'old hands' alike. Thanks Geoff for this great book packed with ideas - and the title says it all!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I brought this book in advance of a conference where I saw Geoff speak. This is a great read and I for one will be making the implicit explicit in my teaching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Excellent both my students an I like this book and found a lot of helpful pointers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
i love this book, i feel i can use this in my lesson, i would have liked a book on how to use punctuation marks, commers and full stops in my feed back and so i can help my learners.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)