Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2010
As the title suggests, this book provides a very brief and basic overview of 100 key points and techniques related to family therapy. The structure is generally logical and covers what might be expected, in introducing systems theory, challenging misunderstandings and working through aspects of beginning, developing and ending therapy. It offers thoughts about common challenges encountered. However, each of the 100 points receives less than three small pages of attention so it is only useful as a very basic introduction to what are sometimes incredibly complex theoretical ideas or techniques.

At times, the authors make claims about techniques which seem to make assumptions without referring to the evidence to support such claims, e.g. stating that seeing their family mapped on a genogram is an experience that 'always allows clients to feel embedded in the influences that have formed them'. This might be based on their own clinical experience, but is not necessarily accurate.

Although the contents page includes all of the 100 points and techniques covered, the lack of an index does make the book difficult to use if you want to quickly refer to something, or find reference to something under a point or technique with a different title.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
I cannot believe that previous reviewers complained about the lack of an index in a book of '100 key points and techniques!' One would imagine that the index is in the points! That said as a family therapist I enjoyed the writing style, thought it covered a range of ideas well and sensibly and gave a good flavour of key ideas. The idea that family therapy is complex has a great deal of currency and sometimes it is and sometimes we might do well to pick one of the points in this book and give it a try.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
An excellent brief introductory textbook for those wanting to dip their toe into the field, or a great opportunity for more seasoned practitioners to revisit, review and reconsider areas of practice and
theory they have maybe not considered for some time.
I was really impressed by both the content and the format of the book, and would also commend the price too!
If you are training to be a family or systemic therapist this would be an excellent foundation level textbook for your reading list I feel.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
This book provides an extremely useful summary of key systemic theories, methods and questioning techniques. It uses a lot of examples from practice, including example transcript excerpts which I always find useful when thinking about how to broach certain topics using a systemic frame.

I found the 'dealing with common challenges' section the most useful part. Very practical ideas as to how to embrace and deal with the challenges and complexities faced when working families, such as managing 'stuckness' 'resistance' 'blame' etc.

Highly recommended for students (I used it for my intermediate systemic course), or experienced practitioners looking to brush up on certain areas.

Its not an in depth guide, as some reviewers point out, but I don't think it sells itself as such. It gives a good. broad summary of topics/ techniques which can then be explored further using the references.

Also it doesn't have an index as other reviewers as pointed out, but I don't really feel it needs one - the contents are very thorough and each of the 100 sections are no more than 3 pages each!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
I bought this to help with understanding and using theory in an essay for my FT course. Its OK but a bit basic. The MAJOR issue is no index at the back!! How useless in a text book.

"100 points" Nice idea that does not quite make it as not bit wooly in many places..

Please put index in next edition.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Useful introduction. Easy to read, nice and short! Good for year 1 of family therapy training but you might want something with more depth in later years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
This is a brilliant introduction to family therapy. Complex ideas are explained with simple language. Universally useful to all sorts of professionals working in social care and health.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
good entry level book about systemic family therapy gives an excellent introduction to the topic and explains history and theory in a way that is easily understandable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
This book was exactly what I was looking for for my course. It covers everything that I need to know for this level of training and it was posted really promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I have found this book really useful as a rookie family therapist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)