Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2014
Fantastic insight into how children and mothers relate to each other, and the importance of the mother-child bond. A very interesting read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I bought this and "The Making and Breaking of Affectional Bonds" in order to better understand attachment theory. Between the two books John Bowlby provides 15 lectures, being very informative about the history, contemporary issues at the time written, and suggestions for future development of attachment theory. Essential reading for any student interested in attachment theory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2016
The cover shown is not the same as the book recieved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
It is cleverly written and very professional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
John Bowlby is the father of attachment theory, and is most famous for his observational work with children in care during WWII. 'A Secure Base' is a great place to begin if you are interested in his work, as it is concise and a much shorter read than his 'Attachment Theory' in three volumes.
This book appeals for a change in attitude and understanding of basic human need for affection and rejects the unsolicited use of neglect - once disguised as an acceptable way of parenting. It calls into question the theories of 'controlled crying' and other punitive methods, which, to this day are still commonly practised throughout the western world. Through Bowlby's observations, we can begin to join the dots and build a picture of why today's news headlines portray such a bleak outlook on our future. The introduction to this book is so simply put but conveys an important message; parenthood has all but lost its value in the developed world and yet it is the most important and demanding job for the survival of our society. This book should be read by children at school as well as their parents, politicians and CEOs alike.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
I am studying for my diploma in psychodynamic counselling and have found this book refreshingly easy to read. Its content is useful both in terms of theoretical essay writing and in adding to understanding of clinical practice. It is a collection of talks that Bowlby gave and as such does not detail Bowlby's attachment thoery, but makes reference to it.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
A really good summing up and run through of the development of theory around attachment. If you are planning to work with harmed kids or adopt/ foster, I'd most certainly read this first. Makes great sense unlike some famous psychoanalysts I could mention.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
Bowlby is "the man" when it comes to attachment theory. He is an easy read, talks sense and brings the idea of attachment theory alive. Whether you are a professional or just interested, give it a go
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
Very clear and readable. As a counsellor attachment theory has had a great impact on the way I work with clients and I found this book really made it accessible for me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)