Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2009
Trask's writing is brilliant. The author has an outstanding ability to explain his subject in an entertaining way. Trask is the unpretentious master of his subject and writes crystal clear English.

Although interested in the subject, I'm not a language student, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book (I've read it twice). The chapter on 'Attitudes to language' made me laugh and cheer, as Trask explodes a number of widely held myths. 'The uniqueness of human language' and 'Change in language' are other excellent chapters. It's a brilliant book and it's not just for specialists.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
The author reveals some fascinating facts about language, such as how and why the written and spoken versions diverge over time. I like his style of writing and the book provides a good introduction to linguistics for the general reader. I recommend it to anyone with an interest in linguistics, which should be everyone since we all use language.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2002
I am an Undergraduate Linguistics student at Durham and I found this book a very useful read over the summer before I started my course, I also wish I had read it during my A levels as it explores the fundimentals of analytical linguistics assisting the reader in particular with stylistic analysis and providing a through grounding in the basics of degree level work - read it, reduce it, learn it it is a massive help.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
This is a fascinating and engaging over-view of the study of language. While academically sound, with masses of suggestions for further reading, it is also a very accessible read - not at all intimidating for a complete beginner in language studies. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Trask sets out the basic premises and concepts which underpin the subject of linguistics with rare lucidity. The book is engaging and accessible whilst avoiding simplistic platitudes.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Really interesting book.
I've never studied language or linguistics and it was clear and easy to understand.
The book is also very engaging due to the way it's been written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
This book is written in a very easy to read interesting way with plenty of relevant and useful information given.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2008
As a A-level student, I found this book entertaining and informative. It condensed chuncks of my course into meaningful points. Unlike other text books, I intend to keep this book on the shelf after my studies are completed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2017
A magnificent book that covers a lot of the different fundamental concepts relating to language, provided in easy-to-understand terms, with a great deal of humour and open-mindedness involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Really clear and easy to follow. A great introduction to the study of language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse