Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 December 2013
A really accessible book which explores basic concepts and explains core theorists in a straightforward way, great for study of magazines and any media. Sometimes it is tricky to understand that what is considered 'masculine' or 'feminine' is shaped by outside, powerful forces- like pop videos or celebrity game shows. Our ideas about gender are socially constructed - and this influences our own identity of self, encouraging us to conform, usually through shopping. Empowering for any student of the media to 'get' that idea. Read it! It's also got Gauntlett's theory org website to back it up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2017
good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
SUPER useful for A level media studies essay on representation of women. Oh my god it's so full of good quality stuff to quote about women etc, also really interesting to read anyway. My bibliography is basically a shrine to David Gauntlett, Laura Mulvey and Richard Dyer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2008
David Gauntlett's Media, Gender and Identity is a fascinating and refreshing take on a subject one would imagine to be exhaustively explored by other academics. He is strides ahead of many of the other writers in this field as he combines an accessible overview of the key topics and concepts, whilst maintaining an enjoyable and illuminating read throughout.

Gender studies often tend to suffer from a bone dry and dense style of writing but Gauntlett consistently maintains humour and clarity.

This book is perfect for students looking for an accessible introduction or for those interested in the topic but looking for a pleasant read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2003
I read „Media, Gender and Identity" during my research about men's magazines. I found it extremely helpful as it offers ideas that I haven't found in any other books. Gauntlett is very open-minded in his approach to this and other topics. Instead of damning phenomenon like the upcoming of Loaded, FHM and Co. he tries to positively explain their influence on society. This is overall the most modern book I have read about the influence of media on gender and identity as it takes in consideration pop music, films and magazines and in my opinion paints a realistic image of the world of young people today.
I can only advise anyone to read this book who is interested in how media influences society. It is written in a very well understandable language that even I - not a native English speaker- could well follow and is even fun to read - something you can unfortunately not say about many theory books for university.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2003
This book is an excellent introduction to gender representations in the media, and how they can play a part in the identities of women and men. Very good introductions to relevant theories. Not tired old arguments, but new approaches to the topic. Definitely the best book on this topic, for students in particular -- makes other titles seem very old and tired. Recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2010
I referred to this a lot for my gender identity dissertation. It's really concise, easy to read and has a lot of good references to read around.

A must-read for this topic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2002
This book provides a clear and informative introduction to the idea of gender, space and landscape. The intorduction gives brilliant contemporary examples of poular media and how it affect people's lives. The theories and issues explored and introduced in this book provide a fantastic basis for further reading and understanding.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2014
This is an easily digested survey of the topic.
Unfortunately it's let down by its formatting in Kindle. Several pages skip sections and cut on paragraph off to start another half way through a sentence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here