Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
Fast and informative, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This is an excellent book that I found very encouraging. It covers both how and why the use of self can be effective, it looks at how "errors" can be utilised but also gives a wise warning that although a CR may leave behind some teaching, she needs the roots of methodology to spring from.

I found my own style reflected in much of her approach, even though I am only a budding CR, and this was very affirming, helping me to look at how I could do more to help my clients but still feeling I was doing a good enough job.

A book suitable for anyone wanting to learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2002
Since its publication in 1999, this book has become recommended reading for counselling trainees and professionals alike, particularly those who, like Val Wosket herself, have begun to question their place within the theoretical schools to which they were initially drawn.
Immensely readable and jargon-free, she sets out to demonstrate how the unique self of the trained, self-aware therapist, one who is willing to use client-responsive, intuitive and perhaps, unorthodox practices, can greatly expand the capacity of effective therapy.
She looks at little discussed subjects such as the value of making mistakes and the increased client connectedness which can come once liberated from the tyranny of being the 'perfect therapist'. She has also gathered evidence from a sizeable number of practitioners about the benefits accrued from breaking the rules of counselling and from working at the edge and beyond of commonly accepted boundaries.
Wosket illustrates her ideas with a research study based on one eighteen month counselling relationship, in which both parties kept a written record of the interaction. It is a marvellously illuminating documentation of the inner worlds of the counselling process from two, sometimes convergent, sometimes divergent, points of view. Readers are enthusiastically urged to consider researching their own counselling practice in order to reap the considerable rewards of the learning which can take place from such an activity.
The book contains many other examples from Val Wosket's own practice. Her compassion, intelligence and wisdom shine through but she is also careful to detail her own shadow side and doubts about her competencies.
She talks courageously and sometimes, painfully, about her difficult family background, traumatic life events and how these have impacted on her work as a therapist and a trainer. She strongly argues the case that development of the self must be an integral part of any training course.
Perhaps the most striking thing about this book is how much it resonates afterwards. The soul laid bare on the pages, the all-seeing eye turned inwards makes us feel that we have been priveleged to receive a wonderful gift. This experience in itself is a powerful model of how the therapeutic use of self can and should be used as an equally loving gift to all our clients.
0Comment| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Accessible and useful book particularly for my course work. It threw light on subjects and topics and will be valuable to me and my research
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
This book in my opinion is an excellent addition to any counsellors book collection.. Full of experience and insight..Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
This is a good book but can be quite hard to get into. Very interesting and thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Bought many years ago for personal interest. Will be interesting to see the 2nd edition next year, in March 2015.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
illuminating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Think book says it how it is. The first book that could have been written by me of I could
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)