Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2017
The cartoons are fine, but the print quality of the first 55 pages is atrocious. Looks as though they have been scanned in by the publisher. I returned mine straightaway. A pity. I seem to be acting as retailers' quality control quite a lot these days!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
I had "Thelwell's Riding Academy" as a horse-mad child, so I bought this for my equally horse-mad niece for Christmas. I was delighted to find that the Riding Academy cartoons that I loved are just as relevant now as they were thirty years ago. The difference here is that there are two other books included in this edition, so I had a sneaky look at the other cartoons before wrapping it up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2004
These cartoons are simply great - clever, classic humour that deserves a place anywhere where there's an interest in horses or the outdoor life.
This should be a 6* book, but the images have been shrunk to fit the small paperback format, and the quality of the paper doesn't do the cartoons justice. It's a real shame they haven't preserved the original format of these marvellous books.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Very pleased. Birthday present for a Thelwell fan who was very pleased with it. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Very funny - memories of my childhood years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
I bought this book as part of my neice`s birthday present, as she is pony-mad! Suffice to say she has already chuckled her way from cover to cover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Brilliant :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2001
Anyone familiar with the world of ponies, gymkhanas, riding lessons, and the misadventures of children and horses will love Thelwell's books! These cartoons are enchanting and funny. "Cartoons" is perhaps not the right word, as each drawing is a detailed work of art. Norman Thelwell manages to capture not just the humour but the whole spirit of any subject he illustrates. This is a collection of three of his books; Angels on Horseback, A Leg At Each Corner, and Riding Academy. Children and adults alike find Thelwell cartoons endearing and hilarious.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
Such a funny book. If you are a horse lover and have battled with learning to ride a pony over the years then this brings back memories.
It brings the humour back into the otherwise serious horse sport.
It's a book which you can pick up at any moment of the day just to have a little giggle to yourself, and brightens your day up.
After reading this book I see my own horses in a different light, they are just waiting to have a laugh at my expense, and now I see the funny side in some of the antics they get up to.
A lovely present for the all 'not too serious' horse lovers, or for parents of children who have pony's so they see the funny side of what can go wrong, or maybe for that person you know who just takes it all too serious and could do with loosening up.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)