Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
21
A Man For All Seasons (Modern Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 March 2013
Fantastic play. Just Fantastic. I read it so often and find myself re-considering a few of my positions on some of the issues.

Following Sir Richard Rich's apparent perjury against More, I love More asking the "court" about the new Seal Rich is wearing (a Seal of office and a great promotion which Rich proudly displays) and whether More may examine it. The court tells Morer that Rich is appointed Attorney General for Wales) and of which More states: "Why Richard, it profits a man nothing to give his whole soul for the world .... But for Wales???"

The point is ... ?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
What an interesting play. Written in 1960, the play uses a chorus-type character who frequently changes parts to act as narrator. The staging sounds interesting, and the story-line moves briskly without missing the highlights of More's plight. There were apparently two possible endings, and this one has the weirder of the two where two politic characters join hands in a Machiavellian sort of way, even though they weren't "on the same side" throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2013
I had the honour to direct and design an award winning production of A Man for All Seasons. A passion for history (particularly Tudor) drew me to this. An enormous role for Thomas More and for Thomas Cromwell (to a lesser extent) but a brilliant play with everything you could want. Well recommended both for reading and for production.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2012
I found this play very well planned and written, with a lot of attention to all the details of the actual performance and a great admiration for this famous historical character who refused to give up his principles and paid a terribly high price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2017
Good play
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2014
Such a powerful play, I saw its original perfprmance and am looking forward to looking at it again in a local study group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2015
The interplay between Thomas More and his 'accusers' is superb. Better than Mantel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2015
Refreshiing to read an alternative assessment of More from that in Wolf Hall
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
There are many editions of this play. What distinguishes the Modern Classics version is the introduction by the playwright. You might not agree with Bolt's account of his own adaptation of Brecht's 'alienation' technique, but, unlike many authors, he writes coherently and persuasively about his own work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2018
The acting seems a little dated. Ow but still a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse