Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
16
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2015
Just what son needed for school. Just what expected and came next day as prime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Despite this book being advertised as 'perfect for students', it contains little more analysis than a brief explanation of certain, often obvious terms at the bottom of each page. This more closely resembles a simple list of specific vocabulary than a 'comprehensive guide'. The 'extensive introduction' by Alan Ackerman that supposedly contains 'a summary of the plot and commentary on the characters, themes, language, context and production history of the play' is genuinely a page and a half long, with a largely irrelevant summary of Arthur Miller's career taking up one whole page of said 'extensive introduction'.

I can only assume that this description is in fact of an entirely different book, as this is by no means an 'expertly edited edition'. As this edition is of German origin I would guess that the analysis of vocabulary is instead for those with a less wide ranging grasp of English who may need otherwise to refer to a dictionary in order to understand certain phrases. There is nothing inherently wrong with this edition of Broken Glass, but don't buy it expecting anything other than the play with a few explanations of terms as footnotes. This is in no way the student's guide it is advertised as.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 September 2012
I do enjoy Arthur Miller's plays and academic writing. He was one of the great US dramatists without doubt, but his later work (of which this is a fine example) is just a little less enjoyable when compared to the likes of his early plays, outstanding being The Crucible, Death of a Salesman, All My Sons and A View from the Bridge. But for sure, if you enjoy these plays, you will enjoy reading this one - the chances of ever being able to watch it on stage seem slim, sadly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
I wish I had read the reviews before clicking the 'go to checkout' button. If I had I would have known that the description of this product is not accurate. There are NO notes on plot, character or themes. No analysis whatsoever. There are definitions of some words at the bottom of each page and so this 'guide' might be of use to a foreign student of English language, but aside from that this product is not particularly useful to students.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I read Death of a Salesman years ago and really loved it. This play, although not as masterful as his earlier play, really shows his scope as a playwrite as you see him explore the 'living room drama' type style adopted in plays such as 'Look Back in Anger' to make a social commentary on Jewish American living during the war. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Purchased this for my daughter received earlier than expected, she is in her bedroom now reading Broken Glass which she is studying as part of her A level English she seems v pleased with it. Room for her to make her own notes lets hope it does the trick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
The book was the oldest version, in the book which it did not state and I purchased god this item only because I saw a picture of the new version of the book while purchasing for the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
A late Miller play which addresses the issues of political responsibility and anti semitism. It builds a tense atmosphere andsustains it until the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Needed this particular play for my English Lit exam! Better price here compared to other stores, also brand new. Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)