Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2000
An inspiring book. A bit "luvvie-ish", but highly readable, and filled with practical advice and exercises which really work. (It's a bit awkward trying to do the exercises whilst simultaneously holding the book, but the same can be said of any other book of this nature). Very user friendly, and as I said, the exercises are effective and you'll notice the difference quite quickly (or your friends/family will). Learn how to shout at your children/pets/husband all day every day without straining your voice! Project your words of wisdom clearly through a locked bedroom door and a pillow over the head! No-one will ever be able to claim that they didn't hear you ask them to empty the dishwasher ever again! You'll also find that your posture improves and the relaxation exercises result in your feeling less tense and anxious. (Or is that because no-one can ignore you any more? ) Highly recommended!
0Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2010
Although nearly twenty years old, this is the book I would most recommend to students, actors and voice tutors.
What I like best is her discussion of the right to speak and how to go about it in any walk of life where public speaking is required. She is very good at analysing fears about speaking in front of an audience.
You have to work with this book both in thinking along with the first section and how it applies to you, and going through the exercises in the second part. She makes the self analysis much easier than writers of other books in this genre, and the self-teacher can check their strengths, weaknesses and progress without too much effort.
Teachers of Speech and Drama should have this book constantly to hand, as it covers essential areas of voice and speech in performance that a trainee performer needs, but which are often covered in insufficient detail in board syllabi.
Not only are the exercises comprehensive and useful, but there are also ideas on the development of their usage with specific texts and acting situations.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is sure to be a few years yet before it is superseded.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
A step by step,
daily practice guide to your voice work,
introduced by a deep understanding of how we're inseparable from our voice,
and all that may cause blockage and resistance.
It will free up your voice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
This book is a must for anyone working with young people or adults who have difficulty expressing themselves. It provides insight into why people may be having issues and helps the teacher/tutor find ways to alleviate problems and build confidence in the individuals approach to speaking. Amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
I have yet to finish this book but so far it is an excellent read. It has explained the reasons behind vocal habits and as far as I can see goes on to explain how to 'correct' them or rather how to find your own voice rather than creating a voice that others percieve as correct. I find it an easy clear read with an open honest approach and not full of technical jargon. A useful book for actors but also public speakers and those who wish to discover thier right to speak and be understood. Would highly recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Absolutely insightful. Not only does patsy highlight the way to use our breathing in speech and in many other aspects of our daily lives but also the many habits that unconsciously and/or consciously infringe on our 'right' to speak. The second part offers exercises to improve breathing, relaxation, posture and speech. I find this book all encompassing!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2001
as a degree student of theatre, i found this book very helpful Ms Rodenburg, sets it out so that you are able to understand the text, but also so that you can bring it to life as well. i have a lot to thank hr for.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Great service and product!
I'm quite satisfied - the product got to me on time and it met my expectations. I will shop with the seller again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I bought this for my daughter who is studying drama and she said it is a very helpful book and gives her further knowledge in this area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
A classic text.... a must-have for actors but useful to anyone who uses their voice regularly in a professional or amateur capacity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)