Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 September 2011
SAFE READING - NO SPOILER

This is the script of a wonderful theatrical experience in which Brecht uses his famous alienation effect, an effect which "paused" the play's narrative and forced the audience to think, to consider what they had seen and to reach conclusions. It is now a much copied effect and, of course, variants of the technique had been used since Greek theatre.

It is a rich plot, full of theatre, fun and moving experiences.

Recommended.

PS This is not the later translation with WH Auden.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2002
The greatest mistake people make when reading 'Caucasian Chalk Circle', one that I used to do, is to ignore or underestimate Scene 1. When reading this play, this is where your focus should lie. It displays Brecht's desire to 'alienate' the audience. The content is very relevant to the present day,if the real content is properly explored. You will be hard pushed to find a work by Brecht that better displays his concept of Verfrumdungseffekt, that shows how his ideas have transcended into the common usage of contemporary theatre.
Without wanting to give the plot away, by removing the first scene, this play is turned into nothing more than a fairytale, which completely undermines what Brecht was trying to achieve. Retain your objectivity, and you will find this play full of miscarriages of justice, representations of the effects of war. Engage in how easy it is to compromise and salvage goodness from terrible situations. And don't trust Grusha for a second...!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
My daughter asked me to order this so she could prepare for when she starts 6th Form. It arrived really quickly and she has read it already. Her view was it was a really good read and she found it very interesting. So many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Nothing wrong with this book. You get the play and because it is Methuens you get the notes to go with it. Methuens provide lots of notes about the play, the author, tricky language and the plot. It really is a fantastic book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2001
As one of Brechts greatest works it is easy to assume that it has only one message to teach, but when close study of the book is undertaken, each character appears to have their own message which the audience/reader should pick up, perhaps it's time for you to try this story!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
"The Caucasian Chalk Circle" (Modern Plays) by Bertolt Brecht and Alistair Beaton (Paperback - 2009)

This is The Caucasian Chalk Circle as performed by A Shared Experience (Nottingham Playhouse) and as translated by Alistair Beaton. If you are using this as an academic text you might want to go for a more recognisable translation as this one references the war in Iran, but for work in the theatre I think this is a goodie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
I have studied this piece in class before from a performance side of things. Such a brilliant play written in such an nice, alternative easy read way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I have a very good copy
We have decided not to perform the play at the moment. We are doing Once A Catholic.
It's more fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This was invaluable in my daughter's BTEC drama course, it was wonderful to see her group perform this play. Truly wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Not happy at all. The receipt for The Caucasian Chalk Circle arrived, but the book that arrived with it was "It's not the end of the world".

This was a necessity for my course in University and I am taken aback at how such an error could occur.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)