Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 May 2014
Most books on mythology treat myths as some kind of highly venerable ancient tradition, while for most parts myths were part of low culture, told or sung by drunken men who never treated it too seriously and changed the story and the characters from retelling to retelling - at least that's how it definitely was in ancient Greece, and it's a safe bet it wasn't that different it other places.

Cory O'Brien extrapolates from that and recontextualizes the myths by performing a very low culture and highly entertaining retelling of them. Not just the usual kind like Greek, Norse, or Egyptian - he goes all the way into American Founding Fathers, Scientology's Xenu story, and even the Big Bang creation myth (and as he says - it doesn't matter if the myth is true or not, it matters if it successfully provides meaning).

The book is also pretty short, so it doesn't overstay its welcome - something I can definitely appreciate. You'll end it craving for more, not glad that it's all over (yes, I'm talking to you G.R.R.Martin about all the Meereenese crap you added to the Game of Thrones series).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
A book that starts promisingly with a fun and quirky writing style that, unfortunately, loses some of its charm the longer it goes with jokes repeated more than a few times which is quite surprising for such a short book. Worth a sale price, but not the full.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
This book is hilarious! Couldn't stop laughing the whole way through. EDUCATIONAL LAUGHTER TOO.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
absolutely brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
There's a few sentences in the whole book which raise a smirk but otherwise it's just dire. The joke wears thin after the first chapter, it doesn't change in style or comedy, instead it struggles through to the end using prepubescent humour as the vehicle. The idea of a tongue and cheek mythology guide is a good one... it's just very poorly executed in this book. It's like something MTV would do - it is really that bad.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Not worth it. Use wikipedia instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This book is a waste of money, it's not funny or intelligent. I regret buying it and would not recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Can't stop laughing, I keep reading whole chapters out loud to my boyfriend, since I can't pick what part is the funniest! Wish I had this book when I was in high school, history would have been my favourite subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
This book had my whole house in stitches. I'll admit, there are times when the jokes get a tad repetitive, but not enough to stop it being a good book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
this book is amazing, especially for fans of mythology in any form. great craic and the illustrations are fabulous. Would recommend to anyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)