Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
102
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 March 2011
Having recently enjoyed the debut novel featuring Joe Pickett I have decided to work my way through the series. Whilst the plot may not be as complex or challenging as other American crime/thriller writers there is something innately charming about the principal character, Joe, and his family. In many respects Joe Pickett is not the quickest of thinkers when it comes to detective work (but then he is a game warden) but he has a dogged determination to seek out the truth, regardless of the consequences. His wife Marybeth describes him on page 140/1 as being too trusting in others and not cynical enough at times. He is a marvellously warm and humane individual whose honesty and integrity shine through. The setting (Wyoming) provides a marvellous backdrop to the story and is a welcome change to Los Angeles, New York or Boston. The story is also inextricably linked to this context and provides a glimpse into a way of life that rarely features in this genre. It is this which enhances the quality of the plot. You find yourself rooting for Joe because you want the good guy to come out on top. And just as in the debut novel Joe eventually pieces everything together; although in this story he has to contend with the Savage Run - but you'll have to buy the book to find out exactly what this is. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Was not sure at first I thought it was a bit slow but then the plot thicken with a literal explosion and from then on it was a rollercoaster of ups and downs and you felt sorry for Joe no sign of nate this time when Joe needed it but the conclusion came and it was a good thing at the end as you were glad it came for him as he was almost at the end of endurance for Joe fantastic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Gripping story which keeps you wanting to get and read the next one in line good holiday read second one in 10 days
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Another great author and the start of a series to start reading. Its a good job I keep a record of all the books I read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Another great addition to the busy world of Joe Pickett. On to book 3 now. Easy reading and absorbing storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
A good, well-written thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
If you enjoy the series Longmire on Sky this is the perfect read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the second in a set of books that involve the character Joe Pickett. I haven't read the first book yet but that didn't really matter. Things which happened in the first book are alluded to in this story but they don't leave you feeling like you have missed out on important information as often happens with sequels.

Joe Pickett, the central character, is lucky enough to live and work in the beautiful Wyoming wilderness as a Game Warden. Throughout the book we are treated to wonderful descriptions of the landscape, animals and people which really help to add depth and perspective to the story .

Joe lives a fulfilling life with his wife Marybeth and his three beautiful daughters. One night he receives a call to investigate an incident that possibly involves game animals but he ends up in the midst of what initially looks to be a horrific accident. It seems that an active environmentalist and his wife were killed by an exploding cow!! (it does make sense when you read the story). However, as the story progresses it seems things are not as straightforward as they first appeared. Joe finds himself drawn further and further into the investigation and as a result he unintentionally ends up in a precarious and life threatening situation.

This is a well written book, exactly what you would expect from an author of this calibre. C.J. Box really draws you into the characters in this story giving you a detailed insight into their lives and feelings and you can't help but want things to turn out well for Joe and his family.

I absolutely loved this book, it was so easy to read and I just could not put it down for more than a few minutes at a time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 February 2015
I enjoyed Open Season and decided to read the series in order. I enjoyed this, the second story, too. I am really getting to like Joe and his family and I will definitely be reading more in the series. Don't want to give anything away but I will say one thing about this story, and that is that even though I thought it was very well constructed and kept me turning the pages, I was left feeling that Joe wasn't so much a central character driving what took place so much as just someone who happened to be around, seeing what others were doing - hence the star off. He just didn't seem to actually do much. There was also more filling in of characters' backgrounds continuing on from the first book, so I do sense a careful construction of the Pickett universe going on, hopefully to be explored and exploited further in the subsequent books.

Two down, plenty more to go - I am really enjoying them. Hope the standard is maintained.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2011
The second novel about Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett not only meets the standard of the first, Open Season, but exceeds it. This series is shaping up to be highly readable. Savage Run has a simpler, leaner plot, without an element of "whodunnit" suspense, and without Joe's children taking centre stage. The theme is (again) environmentalists versus ranchers/landowners, this time the environmentalists concerned are those who create a lot of publicity for their cause by breaking the law or protesting volubly. One of them, for example, attempts to fly a plane full of wolves from Canada to Wyoming, in order to reintroduce these animals into their "natural environment".

The author does not take sides, though his evident love for the land and its natural resources are very clear, and represented by his simple, direct hero Joe. Joe is perpetually torn between his instinctive sympathy for those in his community who are increasingly struggling to make ends meet as the land is bought out by rich corporations or magnates, and his strong disapproval of those who break the law he is employed to enforce, for example by hunting or fishing out of season.

In Savage Run, extremist environmentalists are being ruthlessly targeted in various parts of the country. Joe and one of them, an entertaining (though initially irritating) character who turns out to have a previous friendship with Joe's wife Marybeth, find themselves in an unlikely alliance, being pursued across the ravines and mountains by an adversary who seems to be a reincarnation of the legendary Tom Horn. Unfortunately there is some violence, but toned down compared with the first novel - I hope the start of a trend.

I found this novel to be pleasantly engaging, telling a good story in an undemanding fashion. I liked the moral message and the small but important domestic dilemmas that Joe, a rather serious-minded character, constantly faces. His struggle to become accepted by the community in which he lives seems to be destined to failure, given his policing role - which he carries out with an assiduousness not shared by the sheriff or with other authority figures.

This novel was first published in the USA in 2002, and is being published in the UK later this year (2011) by Corvus, together with the others in the series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse