Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2012
I bought this book to get an introduction to the enneagram, and was a bit nervous in case it turned out to be new age faff. In the end, I loved it, and have become fascinated by the enneagram as a tool for self-awareness and development, as well as for developing empathy and compassion for others. The only reason why I have not given 5 stars is because the Kindle version contains several important charts on the characteristics of the various types which are written in such small print that I couldn't read them (and the 'change type size' option doesn't work either on these charts, for some reason), so I ended up having to buy a magnifying glass! It would have cost me much less money and eye-strain to have bought the paperback, so I would advise all prospective buyers to avoid the Kindle version until they rectify this problem .
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2007
Don Riso is one of the key figures and innovators in the field of Enneagram studies. This is not the first of his books (and here he has partnered with Russ Hudson), nor is it the most recent, but it does represent refinement and improvement over his earlier works. There are several other authors who have written books on the Enneagram, but I don't think anyone else has done it as well. Riso is a highly articulate guy who doesn't sugar coat things, and reading his descriptions of personality types such as the average or unhealthy three is a bit unsettling. I'd say he has, for better or worse, great insight into human nature. A minor criticism is that I disagree with his classification of certain famous people, although in most cases he seems to get it right. Anyone interested in personality and human behavior in general will find this a fascinating read. Author of Adjust Your Brain: A Practical Theory for Maximizing Mental Health.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
An excellent development of the enneagram idea. I liked the levels of development concepts which give a new dimension to the well known enneagram personality types plan. It must of course be noted that these are 'generalised concepts', i.e. there is no 100% scientific psychological proof for the details of such levels, so they should be taken as guidance, not some sort of medical assessment chart. But that said, their main principle of healthy, average and unhealthy states for each personnality type adds a well deserved new perspective which I found very realistic, insightful and very good for working on myself with. These helped me confirm with more certainty which type I was, and what might be happening when I encounter stressfull situations which the standard books simple 'lump all together' for each type. A great help.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I've tried all sorts of personality tests and this is an excellent method to use. Very clear and full descriptions of all types under the test with a clarity of purpose. Not every word in each explanation will necessarily apply but you'll see yourself in a new way if you treat it with respect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
The books on the Enneagram by don Richard Riso and his writing partner, Russ Hudson, are clear, concise, informative and easy to read. The content is excellent, and I would recommend all their books on the enneagram.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
This is a very interesting book. Once you start reading about your own personality type, you won't be able to stop. Full of very useful information not just for yourself but to better relate to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Dividing people into nine types: 1 - the reformer, 2 - the helper, 3 - the status seeker, 4 - the artist, 5 - the thinker, 6 - the loyalist, 7 - the generalist, 8 - the leader, 9 - the peacemaker; as a means of categorising your personality Riso describes the positive and negative aspects of each type. Interesting and perhaps enlightening about one's personality, but not perhaps comprehensively so, it describes how we meet the world and negotiate our way through it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
The kindle version was hard to use, as it needed constant reference to different sections, which I found hard. I have the actual book which is good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
Clear, easy to read, full of fresh insights. An excellent tool for anyone interested in gaining freedom from deeper self knowledge and helpful in relationships
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
The index only gives chapter numbers, so it's really hard to find what you want! But the book content is excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)