Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 9 September 2017
Sydney explains and describes the lessons that Sanford Meisner had with his students. As a Meisner student I found this book as a good introduction to my classes, however I think book although very good is not enough to learn practice technique and it's best just to find a teacher who is Meisner trained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Along side 'An Actor Prepares' this is the other go-to bible for actors and those who work with them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Good book, thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Wonderful!! The book wasn't even used, just had a tiny stain at the bottom!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Actors and directors this is a set text. Simply put you get Meisner's thoughts, techniques and exercises clear communicated. Having knowledge of Stanislavsky is much of an advantage when reading this so check him out first.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
It is very shallow information. So far I still did not manage to read all the pages as it did not take my attention. By reading few lines it seems that the rest of the book means the same thing. And feels like a waste of time to read every single paragraph. The content is just ok as in my opinion is very much repeated....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 1998
You will NOT read this book and come away a brilliant actor. Then again, no book can do that for you. You can only learn by doing, either in class or in a performance. With that in mind, this book is packed with incredible insights, some that are basic tips for the beginner, and others that will only be appreciated after years of performing and multiple readings. Sanford Meisner, one of the members of the famed Group Theatre in the 1920's, was one of American theatre's gems, and sitting in on a course of his, through this book, is the only way to capture some of that magic. A "must-have" for any serious actor's library.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 1999
Unlike Stanislavsky's "emotional recall," Meisner's approach is much more effective. Having been trained under Mr. Meisner's method, my confidence and emotional accessibility has increased 100%. In short, I've accepted his creed, "to live truthfully under the imaginary circumstances of the theater," as my own.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
There's really nothing left to say about Meisner that has not already been said. I can see why he earned himself a name in drama. Here is the key thing I got from him - Acting is simplicity. Actors tend to over complicate things a lot. This is just an essential book for any aspiring actor! Buy it. It's practical as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
This book is written from the perspective of someone who was sat in class whilst Sanford Meisner taught.

I previously was taught Meisner techniques last year and wanted the book to solidify and develop what I'd been taught - the book did exactly that and a little bit more. Meisner was amazing and the knowledge given in the book is really useful and so simple.

I'm not sure that if I hadn't studied Meisner previously I would have read the book differently, or not found it as useful but I'm a very practical person.

The only flaw with the book is the author, he seems to think details about students clothing are necessary when they really aren't and this can get a little bit annoying.

If you want simple honest acting knowledge get this book it's worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)