Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2013
One of Martin seligman's earlier works, incorporating some interesting and powerful ideas. From this book it is easy to see why seligman is considered the father of positive psychology. David Rawcliffe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
A classic! Weather you want to learn more about depressiona and where it comes from or want to understand yourself a bit more. This is your reading. Light and engaging language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
This is an amazing book - written in a really easy to read format with some very good food for thought. I was a little disappointed that the Learned Optimism was 'just' the ABCDE model which I was already aware of...was hoping for more of an illuminating programme that you could take yourself or client through. Now that you don't have that expectation this book will in no way dissappoint,read it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Worried it would be a dumbed down self improvement book. So wrong. Research based and still easy to read. Not finished it yet but enjoying , reflecting and learning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Scientific but still nice to read. Recognising pesimism and depression to understanding it is just the way you think and you can change it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Everybody should read this book.
It is really good and based on scientific research instead of most "positive thinking" books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
Seligman's seminal book on optimism. I think it helped me to understand who I was - a pessimist at heart.

But I also learnt there's not too much wrong with that; and that flexibility (to explore both pessimistic and optimistic views) is most useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Throught provoking and could put several points into action in my personal life and thinking. Easy and understandable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Truly life Changing book, highly recommended to all that seek to better themselves or there situation in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2001
Overall, this seems to be a helpful book for many people. But what about those of us who can't succeed at learning to be optimists ? Or what if the "American" cultural pressure for all of us to be upbeat optimistic characters just doesn't fit you ? Optimism certainly isn't my natural temperament or personality style, so the third section of Seligman's book frustrates me rather than helping me. I think a better approach is to be more realistic about the dangers of unrealistic optimism, and to try to identify helpful and hopeful things about being a person who is inclined to think about worst-case scenarios and to feel anxious about upcoming challenges. For me, the one-size-fits-all prescriptions of the optimism-obsessed positive psychology movement are not that helpful. Maybe I'm a 'defensive pessimist' which is why I prefer the respect for individual differences and the validation of different styles of life in the new book by Norem, The Positive Power of Negative Thinking. I think others not naturally inclined to always look on the bright side will find Norem's more balanced approach to psychology to be both informative and helpful. Defensive pessimism seems to be as adaptive as, and more helpful than optimism for many of us, at least some of the time and in some situations.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)