Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2016
This was a required book on my daughter's A level English Literature reading list. The text is such that there is plenty of room to make notes and underline text if required. As well as the play, there are number of extras including a Background of the play ie England in 1604, Government, Religion, Education and others. There is a list of William Shakespere's other works date list and a chapter of Exploring Othello in the Classrom, and a synopsis scene by scene. There are a number of photographs of actors performing the play and pencil drawing illustrations used throughout the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I didn't find this as enjoyable as As You Like It but this is a brilliant copy for students.

There are plenty of notes alongside the text, helping understanding and interpretation. Especially when the meaning might be unclear.

The book also contains lots of helpful information in the About the Play section and running parallel alongside the play is a key word translation like a dictionary, helping understanding of the text.

A brilliant copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
An essential part of the Open University's 2nd year "A230 Reading and Studying Literature" course, from the Renaissance section. A tragic tale of love, jealousy, betrayal and deceit. This Oxford version contains a huge amount of information, clarifying and analysing this classic play. 11/10.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Having read other Shakespearean works published by Oxford Worlds Classics I knew this would a superbly informative work.
There is no point in this review going into the work of Shakespeare and this tragedy, Othello. I will use this review to write about the all the parts that make up this particular book.
There is a wonderful and informative 179 page introduction that consists of sections on the play's reception, sources, the play in performance and the interpretation of the play. There are six appendices which include headings such as, The Texts of the Play, The Music in the Play and Longer Notes.
But what I believe sets this book apart is the excellent, comprehensive and well researched footnotes.
I am using this book in conjunction with my English Literature degree and would highly recommended it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
This is a very enjoyable and powerful book in which you are lost in the world that Shakespeare has carefully crafted, you will enjoy every second of it. Shakespeare creates a powerful drama of a marriage that begins with fascination , with elopement, and with intense mutual devotion and that ends precipitately with jealous rage and violent deaths. This is a book that you will never forget!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Arden editions are referred to as being the most helpful editions of Shakespeare for students. To me they are the best editions available for anyone who wants to develop a more thorough understanding of the play. This particular book has an introduction of 111 pages. Each page is annotated at the bottom, too. These books aren't the cheapest editions of Shakespeare's plays available, but, to me, they are easily the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
It is really good for A level students as it has little notes on the side to help you understand difficult words and every Act has a little summary so you can understand the scenery. It includes pictures as well to help visual learners so you can remember content by the picture. It has great ideas at the front ofthe book about the history of Othello etc. This is the perfect book for any student of Literature. Although there was ONE word mistake it was insignificant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
Good book for A Level - Recommended by college
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
The notes in this version are very detailed and helpful - so I highly recommend this for higher ability students. The text itself is quite small though - so if you like lots of room to make notes/annotations - you may struggle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
This is a brilliant piece of writing which is a relevant today as the day it was written. The issues it deals with and how Shekespeare tackles them are brilliant. I never knew how much racism exhisted during the 17th Century and reading 'Othello' has given me a new insight into how life must have been for people of colour in white Europe. This is one of those 'must read' books that will enlighten and better oneself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)