Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
This is a brilliant book for counsellors and psychotherapists interested in trauma!
What is makes clear is that Sensorimotor psychotherapy IS Gestalt Psychotherapy: e.g. Figure/ground; phenomenological tracking; tight therapeutic sequences; layer theory; experiment; grading; unfinished business; creative adjustment; field theory; awareness - three zones; moderations to contact,etc.
I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
This is a good introduction to the theory and practice of Sensorimotor Therapy which is now regarded as an important contribution to trauma therapy. This approach to trauma therapy diverts the client from the story, emotions and beliefs to initially focusing on the sensations and movement aspects of memory which reduces the chances of clients being de-stabilised by traumatic memories. With developing mindfulness about internal sensations the client may sense defensive movements which may have been inhibited during the trauma experience. By acting out the movement the client may experience a sense of triumph over the trauma along with new positive beliefs about himself. This is an exciting development in trauma therapy and I eagerly await the next book by Ogden and Fisher due out hopefully in April.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Excellent piece of work of explaining a method of psychoterapy in a tidy way that accompanies the reader in accquiring the required knowledge.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
At this time, this is the only book describing Sensorimotor Psychotherapy, although Pat Ogden is currently working on another. This approach, based solidly in current neuroscience research, works at three levels: body, emotion and cognition. This uses a whole new level of information for getting in touch with and resolving distressing memories in a gentle, non-retraumatising way. As a counsellor/therapist working with survivors of childhood trauma, I had been taught nothing about how to avoid leaving my clients dysregulated at the end of their sessions, and neither had any of my colleagues. When I attended a talk about using this method for trauma I knew it was what I was looking for. Having undertaken the training, my clients have progressed exponentially, learning skills to manage their distress and feeling safer to do memory work.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
An innovative approach to trauma in various forms and a thorough and comprehensive way of working with it, masterfully expounded. A must read for anyone in the field I believe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
An essential book for understanding trauma and gives a clear perspective of the psychological effects. Tough and compelling reading.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2016
Very helpful in my work with severely traumatised people in South Africa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/0393704572/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_6
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)