Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2016
I was very disappointed by this book. The best thing about it was the title. I was really looking forward to hearing more about Woz as he is clearly a very clever man who made a terrific and inspired contribution to the personal computer. I knew little about him other than as "the other guy" in the Apple story and his "hacker" roots. Being of similar age, and having done my share of meddling with computers and programming in that period, I was keen to relive some of the old history. However, this book is hopelessly self-absorbed, poorly balanced, repetitive and egotistical. Where was the editor/coauthor? Asleep? I will refrain from being overly explicit in my review but it is rare indeed that I give up on a bio on someone so influential. It simply annoyed me. It does little to elucidate the relationship with Jobs but simply claims (over and over again) what a genius iWos.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Wow! Just finished reading this, what a great insight into the kind of person and engineer Woz is, I absolutely loved every bit of it. What a nice guy. Its pretty obvious most of it is written by him as well, which is nice. The book reveals Woz as a person, an engineer and his time at and before apple, and beyond. He gets quite deep into engineering, I'm an electronic design engineer for a living and found the level of depth very interesting. All in all a great book, well done and thanks Woz!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Inspiring look at what makes Woz tick. From a psychological viewpoint it is a case study in what contributes to the ego's search for validation and masquarades as a person's sense of purpose. What a lovely example of a life being lived without awareness of that mechanism occuring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Excellent book worth reading it, great side of the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
One of the heros of our age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Steve Wozniak is an engineering genius. This book had the potential to explain and celebrate that genius by focusing on product creation. Alternatively it could have been an opportunity to go behind the scenes of the creation of one of the first billion dollar computer companies, Apple. It could even have stayed close to a personal exploration, trying to understand what makes someone turn out in that way.

Instead we got the worst of all worlds. A meandering set of poorly connected vignettes that reads like exactly what it is, a poorly edited transcript of multiple conversations with his co-author.

If you're interested in Steve Wozniak you might get something from this book. But probably not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
(Possible spoilers below)

I found out about this book after reading a blog post about the upcoming jOBS movie about the life of Steve Jobs but in that article they quote Steve Wozniak as saying that some scenes are not accurate and for the "real" story to read his book.

So I did.

Popular culture would have us believe that Steve Jobs was the real "ego" and that Wozniak was in the shadows actually making the computers and being shy and humble . But this book will make you realise just how much of a jerk Wozniak was as well. Playing stupid pranks into adulthood.

Of all the Autobiographies I've read never come across such ego and arrogance. If you were naive Mr Wozniak would have you believe he invented everything in the world years before everyone else but never got the credit. Significant details are missing as well, like how he says he designed breakout but they didn't actually use his design because it was too impractical. (Source Wikipedia) he also claims that all known history and reporting of apple was wrong. Whatever Steve....

Overall the book was an interesting read to see some of the other side of the story which might not have been gleaned from Walter Isaacson's - Steve Jobs Book (which I highly recommend you read if you have not already) but have given it the score I have due to the juvenile writing style along with the aforementioned arrogance and massive ego.

Whilst the above might make someone think twice about reading the book, I would still suggest reading it, just be prepared to read about how much Wozniak thinks of himself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2006
Steve at first seems overly self-interested, but this reflects the stage of his life he is recalling. Woz tries to put right some of the half-truths and errors that have been reported about his involvement with Apple. He is rightly proud of the things he has created and makes this very clear in this book. The content of iWoz falls between a biography and a techincal analysis of Woz's designs.It has an easy to read style and although it contains a good bit of geek tech-talk it does not get in the way of the main message.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
Wozniak's non-comformity and considerable achievements are underlined in a fairly self-deprecating way in this book.

The explanation of how he designed and built the Apple I is extremely accessible and makes it sound like anyone could do it. Of course, the reality is that very few people have both the vision and skills necessary to make a quantum leap like the original Apple computer.

He's also included chapters on Phreaking, his development of remote control systems and later Apple products. He sets out his position on the politics within Apple and adds a section on advice for new young inventors and engineers - which is short and to the point. Throughout the book he's constantly referring to the various professional relationships between individuals and companies within the Silicon Valley area - with the intermingling of ideas from Atari, Commodore, HP, Apple and others. These were key points in the development of the Silicon Valley area as an engine of economic growth and also pivoting points on which the IT revolution tilted.

But this is not a text book - so you're reading it like Wozniak is saying it. Don't expect huge amounts of detail or a read that will take weeks. I read this book in a couple of sittings - and it was all the better for it.

In response to those who see this book as a self-serving exercise: Having read the biographies of others (sports personalities, media tycoons and the rest) I'm at a loss to see how Wozniak is trying to big himself up. If you want self-promotion on a huge scale try reading the memoirs of some UK politicians. Wozniak admits to losing vast amounts of money on some of his business schemes, having had failed marriages and crashing a plane! How much more self-abuse do people want from him?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and it only took a few evenings to finish it.
It is written in an entertaining way but is certainly not a linguistic master piece. He manages to get technical details into the book, which are not intimidating to non-electronic engineers. At the same time he still manages to highlight how revolutionary some of the inventions were, from a technical and visionary point of view.
What I found missing, was more about his more recent passed/achievements, but maybe it's not as entertaining as the rest.
It did get a bit repetitive in regards to him claiming to have been the first to have done this or done that. While this may well be true, there is very little credit given to those that came before him; as Newton said: "If I have seen farther than others, it is because I was standing on the shoulders of giants."
Altogether, I can highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)