Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2013
Bought this as I remember loving the dark and scary stories when I was little and was wanting a copy of them to read to my daughter. The book is pretty hefty and I love all the info on the brothers themselves and the history behind the stories like red riding hood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2008
This is a handsome volume with some fabulous illustrations conjured up from 'grimoires' past. Be warned, though, that it is not a COLLECTED Grimm - you get only 37 of the 211 tales. Obviously the 'famous' stories feature in this selection (Rapunzel, Cinderella, Hansel and Gretel...) but the more curious choices often feel to have been selected because they counteract the masculine pre-occupation of most folklore. Even the illustrations lean overly towards Kay Nielsen at the expense of Rackham, Goble, Crane etc.. It might be deprecatory, but it's an unfortunate fact that a lot of historical literature IS sexist and no amount of commentary can counteract the archetypal force of this. Tatar's enthusiasm often gives the lie to her academic aspirations and most readers of the footnotes will feel at times that they are being lectured on 'dark undercurrents' by a librarian in denial of her spinster status. Don't make it your ONLY copy of Grimm: but do buy it if you want to encourage publishers to keep making books that are beautiful objects even at this price.
77 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
I bought this as a gift for my sister who really loves the original stories. She really enjoyed it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
It has the properly gruesome versions of the tales and a good selection of illustrations. My only criticisms would be that the cover image is not on the actual hardcover but on a paper cover and that the illustrations could be bigger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
excellent book, looks stunning and the drawing are very detailed. bought this for my daughter who is very interested in the history of fairy tales and love detailed drawing so this book is perfect for her. well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Bought this for a present. A lovely looking book with loads of stories. Some I had not heard of before. My daughter loves it will keep in her collection forever. Beautifully bound with lovely illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
What a beautiful book, and worth every penny. Only slight complaint is that it doesn't have all the Grimm stories, just the main ones. However, that is a minor quibble for a book that will become an heirloom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
A brilliant book. Big and heavy and illustrated like something you would have seen many a year ago. Definitely worth the price tag and i have seen it for at least twice the price in the shops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
This was bought as a gift for a lover of Grimm's tales and a performing arts student. Certainly not the sugar coated fairy tales but a thoroughly appreciated and loved gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
We have a new generation of kids in the family and this is another great way to get them interested in reading as they get older. Lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse