Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 11 August 2015
Very pleased with this book well worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2016
Perfect!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2013
This book is a bit dry and hardgoing, however I am persevering with it. A good book to read if you need to understand Counterpoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2012
I bought this for my son for his GCSE Music studies. He has found it very helpful. Arrived on time in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2013
Superbly well written if you can get over the 1725 narrative style. "What is that style, might I inquire venerable master?" "Well, my son, there are many things I have yet to explain to you, but they will all be covered in due course." Did they really talk like that? But ignoring that stylistic aspect, the actual content and substance is superb.

For the unfamiliar, counterpoint is a formal musical structure which requires very strict adherence to clearly defined rules. Johann Joseph Fux was a master court composer who had the honour and privilege during his lifetime of serving in that capacity to five different Emperors. Originally written in Latin, towards the end of his life, copies of this publication were fervently sought and prized throughout the musical world. Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven all had copies and learnt from its pages, as did many others. Finally, in the mid-twentieth century Alfred Mann, a respected academic in the US, translated the text into English so it could be re-published.

The book follows a clear structure, enabling students to progress methodically and with assurance. At every step it provides worked example exercises, which can be copied out and their principles re-applied. To aid the flow of narrative, we are provided with an imaginary discussion between a tutor and his student, where the rules of counterpoint are identified and explored. There are three sections in the narrative: (I) for two voices; (II) for three voices; and (III) for four voices. Each of those sections is divided into five distinct species: (1) note against note; (2) half note against whole notes; (3) quarters against whole notes; (4) the ligature; and (5) florid counterpoint. Along the way several important concepts are raised and systematically explained.

This book will be hugely helpful for anybody wishing to study and develop their skills in writing counterpoint - a key aspect of baroque and early classical music. Recommended.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2013
As an introduction to Composing I found this book to be my go-to guide, and I've been keeping at it for well over a year and a half now. I'm on 4 Part counterpoint finally and one thing I would say is to do extra research on each rule stated. Many of the Rules have since changed and can be challenged. For example Battuta's, considering 4ths as Dissonant, and only being able to use crotchets on the 2nd and 4th beats.

The book is intended as a fundamental introduction and should be considered that way. once following the rules strictly it is up to you to decide which rules you are going to stick by and which ones you are going to break.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2016
It's a classic. There's really little to fault it - you get what you're probably expecting from this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
A great book for learning the art of counterpoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)