Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Once Upon a Time in the North (His Dark Materials)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 March 2016
An enjoyable return to the world of His Dark Materials, exploring a key incident early in Lee Scoresby's career. Brief but entertaining, with enough layers and excitement to make me wish it were a full length novel. Or series. Makes me want to go back and read His Dark Materials again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2010
A simply enchanting tale, told by a master story teller.
This story took me back in Lyra's time to put future events into context.
More than this it stood alone, enticing me to want to know more and to sail of into the sunset for more adventures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
Brought as a gift for my son -he's currently reading the book -in his words 'It's good, but so far not much action, as good as 'Northern Lights' but not as good as 'Subtle Knife' or 'Amber Spyglass', but I've not all the way through yet'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Bought this for my daughter as a follow up to Pullmans excellent trilogy, the Dark Materials. Well packaged and arrived on time. She loved this as it explained a lot of unanswered questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Having read Philip Pullman's Dark Mateials series was keen to buy Time in the North. Enjoyed it -- But would have enjoyed it more if it had been longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I like this book. It's quite small and simple but I feel this gives it a lot of character. A great addition for anyone who is a fan of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
An introduction to Lee Scoresby which makes him more like Lee Marvin and the magnificent seven - a real sharp shooter. A good short read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
This bok is as gripping and well written as the rest of the dark materials series. But, while a complete episode, is sadly short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Lee Scorseby is a fantastic character. Having his story, and his meeting Ioric, told makes me just want more of his adventures!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Great book and very cute too! Dinky size and a keeper! Very good read which I think you will agree. Take a look inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse