Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 November 2013
As usual, Bill Bryson has created an interesting and long piece but it is good reading right to the end. I have to say as an English man the baseball references were a little hard to get my head round but it is not important as they are there to emphasise the skills of the likes of Babe Ruth. There is so much stuff in this book. America in the 20's was not what we would have imagined. It was a completely different world and Bryson deals with history with his usual humour and style but some of this is eye opening stuff. I don't want to reveal too much about the content as it would spoil the read but as a teaser, who would have believed that the Nazis actually went to America to see how they dealt with their sterilisation programme. That programme, which was responsible for the sterilisation of 60,000 people, could quite possible have been the inspiration for what became the most horrific part of modern history. Read it. As with many of Brysons factual books I will only retain a small percentage of the information as it is jam packed with snippets but well worth the money for the bits I retained. Excellent stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Some interesting stories about the first manned flight, but a good deal about baseball also that made it hard to maintain my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
I am a fan of Bryson all the way back to his 'notes from...' books and this one doesn't disappoint. Bryson writes with humour and weaves an evocative image of late 20's America. Interesting, educational and overall a very enjoyable experience with plenty of humour thrown in. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2016
Bit too much baseball for the UK market, but intriguingly written. Not up to Bill Bryson standard of humour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
This is in my estimation one of Bill Bryson's best books . It has to rank up there with Notes from a Small Island and Walk in the Woods. He has exhaustingly researched his facts and tells them to the reader in a very mellow , relaxed manner so the reader may absorb them without big shocks and starts. Books like this should be on the top selling books for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Classic book and provides the history of America with 1927 as the backdrop which is shows the bundle of contradictions USA is with the highs and the lows, the good and the bad, the hope and despair that we know the country to be. Very well written and great delivery fulfilment by Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
An excellent read, very entertaining, right up there with the very best of Mr Brysons work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
This is one of the most fascinating 'history' books I've ever read. Bill Bryson is a master storyteller who teases out the most incredible nuggets to serve up to his readers; I absolutely loved it and will doubtless re-read it often!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
A very independent reviewer. Investigative journalism at its most entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Another excellent read, kept my husband happy during his holiday!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse