Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
95
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2008
If you have read "His Dark Materials Trilogy" and enjoyed them you might be asking yourself the very question my title asks; where are they now?
Well... If you take a chance to read this book you will get some idea.
Here we look in on Lyra about two years after the end of the book "The Amber Spyglass".
Some people might describe this as a cheap money making ploy, but I think true fans (like myself) that were left at the end of the last book sobbing into their tissues, would enjoy this.
Yes, it might be a bit pricely, let us not forget that this short story is about the same length as a long chapter. But, we get the cool map and other paraphernalia that have fallen out between worlds into ours.

If the trilogy was nothing more than a story to you, you probably won't be all that excited about this, nor will you be very happy at paying a regular book price for a chapter long story. But, if it was more; if you fell in love with Lyra and Pan and all her friends then you should check this book out as it gives you that little bit more of a connection to that world and its magic.
It shows you that even though the trilogy is finished and all's right with the world(s), Lyra may be dealing with the aftermath for years to come!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Short book only worth the one read but good quality well looked after.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2003
Oh, how is it possible to be so pleased and yet so dissappointed in a book? Readers left wanting more after His Dark Materials will find that there is not much more on offer, as the major content of Lyra's Oxford is a short (note that word - the entire book is only 50 pages long), intriguing story set 2 years after the end of the trilogy. But what a beautiful book: it's binding and presentation make it a item to treasure and Pullman's way of dropping significant, and often seemingly unrelated pieces of information in front of the readers' eyes allows you to walk away with thoughts, possibilities and perhaps's developing in your own mind. A tonic to the imagination and a perhaps an appertiser for the promised Book of Dust?
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2006
i got this book after reading the dark materials trilogy. i decided to look at some of the reviews people had wrote about it on here and all i can say is that i disagree with quite a few. i enjoyed this book and thought that it was a great little short read which i can see myself picking up and reading again and again. yes the book is short but that only adds to its appeal as a book you can take anywhere and ease boredom. the fold out map and other little pieces in the book were interesting and fun to look at. all in all this is a nice little book to read but dont buy it if you are after a book that you can sit and read for hours or days.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
OK it's a nice little book that took about 20 minutes to read. The story would make no sense at all if you haven't read the trilogy (which I rate as brilliant storytelling for adults and children) and if you have read the Dark Materials books, it adds nothing and is very disappointing.
It's difficult to see what the point is other than blatant merchandising, and it has the air of something knocked out by a staff writer in order to cash in on the great story for children and adults that preceeded it.
All concerned should be ashamed of themselves!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Brilliant I loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
More than anything, Lyra's Oxford is a tease. It's a mini-adventure for Lyra, as she attempts to help a witch's daemon find the alchemist that he is looking for. Some of the things I loved most about Northern Lights are certainly here - the slightly fantastical Oxford of her world, the hints of magic and Lyra being her old, irresistible self - but as soon as it begins it is over again.

His Dark Materials is such a well-loved series that this in itself is a shame. The book is just a taste of this world, reminding the reader of why Northern Lights was so popular, but as a "sequel" to the series it is a lacking. There is only the smallest of mentions to Will and due to length of the story, it's certainly not as deep and meaningful as the main series. While the story did have an obvious message, it was delivered a bit heavy-handedly in its opening paragraph.

Yet this book is a lovely gift for a fan of the series as the hard-backed version does contain some beautiful maps and inserts, as well as the lovely cloth cover. It's been hinted that some parts of this story may be significant to The Books of Dust as well, so perhaps it does have some hidden importance that will become clear next month!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2017
"This book contains a story in several other things. The other things might be connected with the story, or they might not; they might be connected to stories that haven't appeared yet. It's not easy to tell."

It has now been a couple of years since Lyra had her adventures in the dark materials. She is now settled in the Oxford of her world. Lying on the roof with her daemon, Pantalaimon (From: Pine marten) Lyra speculates on the meaning of the random movements of birds. Little did Lyra realize that this would soon bring her to a new adventure in the search for a well known alchemist; and a new understanding of witches, and life in general.

This story can easily be a trial balloon for a new book.

------------------------------------------------------------

The unabridged production on one compact disk may be a tad more expensive. However it is performed by the author and a full cast on top of this is not a well-designed case and a pamphlet tells a little bit about the beginning of the book also includes some of the materials that he describes the beginning it might've been lost between worlds. There are some pictures of Oxford that might be the real one might not. And a foldout map of Lyra's Oxford.

Bill Pullman sounds awful lot like Jim Dale as he begins his story with a quote from Oskar Baedecker's "The Coast of Bohemia."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
There is nothing wrong with Philip Pullman's Lyra's Oxford - it is a competent little side story about Lyra a little older than we see her in His Dark Materials, and her discovery about the misbehaviour of some birds. It was delightful to read some of her character in a more mature frame of mind, albeit the rebelliousness is still evidently, thankfully.

The addition of a beautiful map of Lyra's Oxford, as well as a postcard from Mary is a nice touch. Although I'm not quite sure what the brochure is all about.

My main qualm with the book, is perhaps, more of a personal thing than an actual problem. I wanted more - so much more. Short stories are exactly that - short, but this episode seems a little too far removed from the main trilogy to have sort of impact. I was left with more questions, as well as questions with what had happened since we last saw her.

Lyra's Oxford should be taken as a singular episode and nothing more. Fans will delight in a new little titbit of sorts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2008
As someone who has recently finished reading His Dark Materials and considers it one of the best series of novels ever written, I eagerly bought both this and Once Upon A Time In The North together from Amazon and - considering them both together - I am glad I did. I love miscellanies and companion books and both of these books are both great for the serious fan, containing snippets of information deliberately out of context - the idea being to make you think and fill in the gaps with your own imagination.

But if you have only read the first book (or seen the film), I would advise buying Once Upon A Time In The North - as that is a great standalone story of reasonable length - and not this one until you have read your way to the end of the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The story in Lyra's Oxford - Lyra and the Birds - is great if you want to find out more about Lyra Silvertongue's life after the end of The Amber Spyglass, but as a standalone story it is - I have to sadly admit - a bit boring. I think Philip Pullman definitely learned a lesson from this though, because the next short story - Once Upon A Time In The North (out now) - sees him return to form with a genuinely exciting short story that requires no prior knowledge of the series to enjoy.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse