Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2017
Definitely gets you thinking and I could not put it down. Very interesting read that makes you think about what the world could become with the wrong people in charge.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Surely that can't be the ending ??? I have been gripped by this book and literally couldn't put it down.....but....I need to.know more !! What happened to her, her family and Nick ??? I feel totally let down by the author !! However the story was brilliant.....but I need to know more !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
This story is definitely worth reading, but its so bare bones in places, while laden with minute detail in trivial spaces, that it may leave you frustrated!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Loved this book! I'm still watching the TV series but have finished the novel. I couldn't put it down. I felt that it was surprisingly current considering it was written 30 years ago.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Not what I wad expecting after reading the other reviews. Had big expectations for this book but unfortunately it didn't live up to them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Good story but lacked body and depth. Also would have liked to know what had happened to the heroine
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Found it very hard reading had to keep putting it down after a couple of chapters. Not the only person in our group to find it tough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
This was an intriguing sci fi story that kept me spellbound throughout . The heroine Offred ' s character was complex and beautifully teased out . Her departure from being a prisoner of her own mind eclipsing into a sexual being seizing life at its existential best was both exciting and frightening . The undercurrent of hopelessness and powerlessness sensitively portrayed with the allusions to suicidal ideation and the inward struggle with her belief in God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
A chilling, brilliantly observed dystopian view of the future . Though written in the 1980's , it may speak even more truly to our times . A cautionary and deeply disturbing exploration of the consequences that may ensue when religious or ideological fundamentalism are given power .
Like Orwell's 1984 , though possibly more pertinent to our time a book cautioning against allowing extremist thought to hold sway . Read it and bewarned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Atwood's creation of Gilead and the characters within it is totally credible. Written in 1984, it contains chilling prophecies for the present day political scene.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse