Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2014
A fun enough read, but not as good as the Fever books that it is a spin off of. Dani is annoyingly oblivious for such a smart girl and some of the ways she rationalises the obvious away is just plain stupid. New side characters are introduced but not fleshed out. (I suspect they are there for future books.) There is a lot more fantasy-like descriptions of stuff. Exploring the library, for example, felt very Harry Potter. The plot seems to drift a bit in the middle and the one major thing left over from the last book, that is hinted at throughout this one, is finally addressed on, literally, the last page and left as a cliffhanger. RUDE.

Mostly however, my issues with the book stem from Dani being 14 years old. Like the previous books this is a dark and at times sexual book, so why have we thrown a 14 year old into the mix? I'm not one of the readers who believes that minors and sex can never cross in a plot. That wouldn't reflect reality and just because a minor has sex in a book doesn't make it automatically pedophiliac. So, her actual age itself isn't the problem. But if an author is going to place a minor (and not a 17 and 359 day old minor, but an innocent, barely 14 year old minor) in a sexually charged plot it needs to be particularly dealt with. It wasn't here. It was carefully dealt with, don't get me wrong, but not in a way that worked for me and it compromised the whole plot. Here's why:

Dani's spunky and bright. That's great. And two dark dangerous men are in love with her. OK. But one of the men is literally turning into an Unseelie prince (what is referred to as a death-by-sex fae), i.e. an elite member of the eviler of the two fae courts. The other has been a mercenary for millenia...you know rape, pillage and murder. So why, why exactly am I supposed to believe that these two men are willing to voluntarily abide by some antiquated and unenforceable (in post-apocoliptic, lawless Dublin) idea of the age of consent?

I might have believed they didn't find underdeveloped females attractive, except that the Unseelie in general appeared to prefer perversions and both men are shown to have physical, sexual responses to her. (They basically walk around with constant hard-ons.) So, they obviously are attracted. What exactly is supposed to have held two morally unfettered men, who generally take what they want, to the moral high ground? The answer should be nothing, which means the very premise of the book, that these two men are staking their claim for the day she turns 18 untenable and unbelievable.

(I should note that in an interview KMM has stated that neither Roydan nor Christopher is supposed to be sexually attracted to Dani. They just have constant erections. Their love of Dani and engorged penises shouldn't necessarily be seen as correlative. It's true that men look at nubile young women all the time, IRL, and don't act on it. In our culture that idolises youth, it's not even considered pedophilia to do so. I appreciate what she's after in writing the book and characters the way she did. I even think it's far more realistic than when people either write only one of two scenarios--one in which minors are either wholly devoid of sexuality and sexual awareness or victimised by it. I just didn't feel these men were the sort to behave in the reserved mature way they do. Some men, maybe even most men would. But would a death-by-sex fae and a man who grew up in an age when 14 year olds wed and bred?)

They're fun series. I'll no doubt read more of them. I've been consistently impressed with the way KMM slips surprisingly erudite social observations into the books, but this new incarnation was a bit disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I loved this book and gave it 5 stars because as always with KMM I couldn't put it down and read it in 2 days! I was disappointed it when it was finished and I realised I had to wait a long time for the next one.
There's always a cliffhanger ending and you're left going "noooooooooo, why must I wait?"
I don't like the Dani O'Malley character, she really rubs me up the wrong way. Being such an arrogant teenager playing with all the "big boys" but by the end of the book you kind of undertstand her better, see where she's coming from and realise most of the arrogance is a shell to protect her from this horrible apocalyptic-style world she now lives in and has to deal with all the bid scary Fae roaming around.
Because she has all these special abilities she also feels responsible for the world and feels like she has to help in any way she can, no matter what the "big boys" say. Girl power, you know.
If you hated the Dani O'Malley character in the Fever series, don't turn away from this book. Give it a chance, its soo worth it.
Also it lets you see what happens next after the walls between our world and Fae have fallen.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
Firstly, I just want to say that KMM is my favourite author and I absolutely adore the Fever series so my review takes into account the standard of the previous books.

Overall this was an okay installment in an outstanding series. My expectations were not high, I didn't really like Dani but I trusted Karen to make it work - she had never written a book I hadn't enjoyed. I enjoyed Iced, but it really wasn't a patch on the previous books.

I don't want to spoil the story, so I'll just say what I liked and disliked. I liked the return to Dublin and the rich world KMM has created, as usual KMM's descriptions of anything fae were exquisite, dark and haunting (references to unseelie princes 'chiming' makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up) and the best parts of the book, for me, involved Christian and his transition.

As for dislikes... there were a few. The main one was Dani. She still irritates me and the story felt 'dumbed down' for having a fourteen year old protagonist. I was dubious about this going in, the idea of it didn't appeal because in all honesty as a grown woman I don't find fourteen year olds very interesting. However, I trusted KMM to pull a rabbit out of the hat... but I don't feel that she did. All the 'fecks' and 'dudes' were as annoying a presence as ever. The idea that Ryodan and Christian would be even remotely interested in her or the woman she would become just seemed unexplainable. I was at a complete loss to account for Christian's sudden infatuation.

Another dislike was, well, every other female character in the book. The other sidhe seers were just so two dimensional, weak and insipid that I had to stop myself skimmimg past their parts and force myself to concentrate repeatedly. KMM could do with taking a leaf out of Kresley Cole's book here - her Immortals After Dark series is full to the brim with interesting secondary female characters that jump off the page, without detracting from the main character. I was reminded of the early Black Dagger Brotherhood books when I just wanted to skip past the parts with the lessers.

I also felt that The Big Bad (responsible for the ice) turned out to be a bit 'meh' - although I did think the other baddie was cool.

Overall, it wasn't a bad book (it was written by KMM after all) but I had just completed a re-read of the previous books and this one did not scratch the itch that built up over the course of the re-read, it felt lacking in comparison. I finished the book longing for the return of Mac and Barrons and disappointed that there are two more Dani books before this happens. I'm still a die hard KMM fan... this is just my least favourite of her books.

*** EDIT ***
KMM has reached out to fans via her facebook page because of "tons of emails asking about the "over-sexualized" YA thing" asking them to comment in their reviews. I had deliberately left this aspect out in my initial post because it's a bit of a hornet's nest and ok, out of loyalty to KMM over what I feel was a bad judgement call (everybody makes them), but here goes. This is NOT a young adult genre book. It is an adult book that happens to have a fourteen year-old protagonist.

However... whilst Dani did not have sex in the book, she did witness sexual acts and (what I found disturbing) was lusted over by very grown, very sexual men who are vying to be her 'first'. A lot of it goes over her head, because she's only 14, so there isn't any sexual tension as such, but...Ew. Not only did this make me uncomfortable for the obvious reasons, but as a woman in my thirties I felt alienated. I wanted to be as drawn to Ryodan and Christian as I was to Barrons and V'lane but I didn't connect and I suspect this is because I struggled to find men who are attracted to 14 year old girls attractive. That being said, this is the story KMM wanted to tell, which is entirely her prerogative.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
(Did anyone else who ordered from Amazon have a problem with the pages? Mine are all uneven and I even got a replacement and it looks exactly the same. Did anyone else have this problem?)

Review: Loved this just as much as I expected. It wasn't as brilliant as the Fever series, but this is only the first book and I have high expectations for the next one. People who are obsessed with Dani's age and whether the book is too sexual need to get over themselves. It's expertly written and KMM knew exactly what she was doing. If you're not interested in it, don't read it. Simple. Ditto to people who thought Dani's voice was too 'young and immature.' Either you're way too old or you just don't remember what it's like to be young. Either way, don't trash the book for stupid reasons. I loved this. All in all, well worth waiting for.
55 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
I put off reading this book as I found Dani's voice highly irritating in the Fever series. I admit that I still find all the 'fecks' 'dude' and 'gah's' teeth gratingly annoying, overused, and completely unnecessary, however, as a stand alone book it did make an OK addition to the Fever series. It was nice to get an insight into Dani's past life, which made me like her a bit more but I do feel that this story would have made a bit more sense if she had been slightly older. If the author had written her as a seventeen year old it would have seemed less creepy for her to have had so many 'admirers' if she had at least been Ireland's legal age of consent.

I felt that this book was very two dimensional compared to the main series. The characters were less developed and as a result were less likeable. It is definitely a paler shade of writing compared to that of the first five books and could almost have been written by a different author.

My main gripe however is that Karen Marie Moning should have had an Irish editor/proofreader. The words diaper, poop and candy bar (among many, many others) are purely American and wouldn't be used in Ireland. It's as if she has given up researching for her own books resulting in sloppy mistakes.

This book works as a 'fill in' book, but the writing far poorer than the rest of the Fever series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
I loved it. Just loved it. I'll admit I was worried that I wouldn't like it as much as the previous books in the Fever series because hey, Barrons is the undisputed alpha king of the jungle and Dani well, she's only a kid, ok she's a kid with superpowers, but she's still a kid, but OMG Iced is outstandingly good.

I think you would need to have read the first five books in the Fever series to really understand and appreciate the after the wall crash Dublin. Iced has all the characters you would expect there although there's only tiny little glimpses of Mac and Barrons but do you know what? I got to the end of Iced and realised I hadn't even miss them Iced's mystery had me glued to the pages.

Dani isn't actually as annoying as I thought she might be. Yes there's a lot of "dude!" but there's also a maturity there too, she's been through a lot and she has been killing fae since she was nine years old. Iced made me see Dani in a different light altogether, her childhood spent in a cage, her freeze framing superpowers and her feelings of guilt and missing Mac made me like her more than I did previously.

I loved the supporting characters, I wasn't as icked out by the three men surrounding Dani as I thought I would be. It was explained that both Christian and Ryodan see the potential in Dani, in what she will be when she grows up and I'm fine with that (I know some people may not be). Iced sees Christian turning more and more like an Unseelie Prince with fewer and fewer glimpses of the good natured lie detecting Scot I knew and loved. I loved Dancer Dani's best pal and super nerd but I definitely get the impression there's more to him than meets the eye. And Ryodan? OMG. I'm even more looking forward to more of Ryodan. Like Barrons he's all alpha male, mysterious and deadly. At this point it's not clear who Dani's future love interest will actually be so I guess we'll just need to wait a bit longer.

As a (sort of) first instalment Iced had that blend of killer storyline, great dialogue and that overwhelming feeling that there's WAY more to come. Iced is EPIC you need to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
Before I get into the review about Iced I just want to say that I absolutely adore the first five books in this series concentrating on Mac and my book husband Jericho Barrons. I recommend it to everyone and have been doing so for years. When Iced came out I was pregnant and moving so I just never got round to reading it though I had bought it at release.

I was so disappointed in this book. I didn't like Dani in the previous books, so having a book with her as the main character was never going to be good for me, but I love Karen Marie Moning's (from here on out to be called KMM) writing so I thought I'd get past it. Spoiler alert, I didn't.

I'm going to try not to be too spoilery because this is the sixth book in a series, but I am going to give my thoughts on certain things.

The Fever Series is NOT a YA series, never has been, never will be; so having a fourteen year old main character just made KMM's job a lot harder and it really shows. Dani ends up being the lust object (I refuse to call it love for two out of the three people) for three grown men/fae. Now they say age is just a number etc and in olden times she'd be married with kids by this age, but you just aren't allowed to forget how old she is. Her age must be mentioned at least every other page and the way she talks, I'm convinced isn't how any fourteen year old would talk. In the previous book she admitted to watching porn, but she will only call sex "boinking" which just doesn't fit at all. Also there's a lot of talk about being her first even though she repeatedly says that it isn't going to happen, It all just feels so creepy to me.

The story itself, while well written, just didn't hold any interest for me at all. I found myself not really not caring who or what the big bad was, I just wanted to get to the end and honestly the last chapter is the best part and makes me excited about the next book.

Though I really didn't like this book I will continue with the series as I know it goes back to concentrating on Mac and Barrons and all this will be worth it. Also do not let this put you off trying the first five books, nothing will change my mind on how awesome they are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I put off reading Iced for the longest time because of the negative reaction so many of my friends had to the story. In fact, I don't think I'd have EVER got around to reading it if it wasn't for the group read with some of my friends on Goodreads so thanks for the encouragement girls! Anyway, you can probably guess I went into this story with extremely low expectations, I fully expected to hate it and I half expected not to even be able to make it to the end so you can imagine how surprised I was to find myself enjoying the story. A lot. Yes, consider me completely shocked!

I've liked Dani from the beginning, I know she used to get on a lot of people's nerves during the rest of the series but I've always had a soft spot for her. She's just this spunky kid who has grown up under the worst circumstances, she has all these special abilities and has been mercilessly used by Rowena since she was about eight years old. Dani has seen and done things that no child should ever experience and it's given her quite the attitude. She thinks she's older and more sophisticated than she actually is (but didn't we all as teenagers?) and the fact that she has her superspeed and strength has given her quite a large ego but deep down she's just a lonely child looking to be loved and she brings out all of my protective instincts.

I absolutely loved the character progression we seen her go through and in Iced we really get to see just how intelligent she is underneath all that bluster. Dani is clever and when she boldly claims to be the smartest person she knows she isn't just being big headed she's stating a fact. She sees things that nobody else (except for perhaps Dancer) does and she has a way of looking at the world that helps her puzzle things out faster than anyone around her. Like a lot of teens Dani is full of contradictions: she's super smart but also incredibly naive; she's extremely confident but she's also desperately looking for approval; she thinks she knows everything but she completely misses some things that are staring her right in the face; she acts like a grown up one minute and a confused child the next; she acts independant and says she doesn't need anyone but she spends a lot of time looking for love. It's these contradictions that make her feel so much more realistic and they left me desperately wanting to take care of her.

The characters around her I had a lot more trouble with but in spite of the fact that I found myself wanting to punch nearly every other character I still loved this book. Christian has changed completely from the first book and he is probably the character who disturbed me the most, it didn't help that we got to spend some time inside his head and boy is that a creepy place to be. I think KMM did a wonderful job of showing how alien he is becoming and I loved watching that progression in his character. I can completely understand why people who were big fans of his aren't happy though, I was pretty ambivalent towards him before this book so I don't mind that he's now a character I love to hate but if he was someone I'd been crushing on I'd have been devastated.

I'm not too sure how I feel about Ryodan, I think the fact that we don't get to see what he's thinking is something that goes in his favour because I'm sure if I knew what was going on inside his head I'd want to batter him even more than I already do. I hated the way he bullied Dani, he deliberately went out of his way to hurt her and make her uncomfortable and he never once offered her help even when she desperately needed it and pretty much begged him for it. I really disliked the way he constantly played on her emotions to get what he wanted and then turned around and blamed her for the nasty things he did to her. There is no getting around the fact that he used her mercilessly and he didn't give her anything back for it. Barrons was always a mystery, I often questioned his motives and wondered what he had planned but no matter how aggressive he acted or how hard he pushed Mac you always knew he had her back and that he wouldn't let any harm come to her. I wish I could say the same thing about Ryodan and Dani but that just isn't the case and it makes it very hard for me to like his character. I never really got the creepy perv vibes from him that a lot of people did, but I also never pegged him as a protector or someone who would look out for her and that's what Dani desperately needed.

Dancer was by far my favourite character alongside Dani, I loved the friendship that the two of them have and the way he was always there for her even though she is so much stronger than he is. Dancer is the one who has her back and who doesn't patronise her, he treats her like the intelligent young woman that she is and he never pushes her for anything. He is the only one who currently isn't trying to use her for his own means so I really, really hope that he is who he says he is. Unfortunately I have a terrible feeling that he's keeping secrets and I just hope they're not secrets that will break Dani when she finds out about them.

Now we get to the women of the series, I'm going to keep this fairly brief because I've already written far too much but I'm disappointed by the fact that we have lost all of the strong, capable women of the earlier books. Mac was pretty much absent and it broke my heart seeing how much Dani misses her. Dani is convinced that Mac will kill her for the part she played in Alina's murder but I'm really, REALLY hoping that Mac doesn't hold it against her considering she knows that it was completely out of Dani's control and that Rowena is really the one to blame. I'm not sure how likely that is looking considering the ending of this book but I'm keeping my fingers crossed. Kat was someone I always respected before and I thought she'd be much more capable of guiding the sidhe-seers than Rowena but with Cruce messing around inside her head she's failing pretty spectacularly. She does make a big decision towards the end of the book that left me feeling hopeful though so I'm holding off my judgement on her until the next book. The character who disappointed me the most was Jo, she went from smart and capable sidhe-seer, to someone being held hostage as a way for Ryodan to keep Dani under control to basically Ryodan's sex slave. She stopped caring about Dani or any of the others and all she was interested in was sex, Ryodan only had to look at her and she dropped her knickers even knowing that he had no real interest in a long term relationship with her. I really disliked the two of them together, I lost respect for Jo because she let him walk all over her and I hated Ryodan even more for the way he used her just to get at Dani.

I did enjoy the mystery of the iced scenes that they kept discovering though and it was fun to see Dani investigating. She got to show how smart she was (although the fact that Ryodan and the rest of the Nine were completely incapable of solving things without her didn't really reflect well on them!) and I liked seeing how she put all the clues together. I can totally understand why this was such a polarising book, everyone I know seems to either love it or hate it and I can see and relate to the reasoning behind all the different arguments. The fact of the matter is that I was completely gripped from beginning to end, there were things I hated about the book but other things I loved but I think that going in with such low expectations really worked in my favour because I was pleasantly surprised rather that terribly disappointed. I was dreading reading Iced but now I'm excited to read Burned and I'm very curious to see where KMM takes the series from here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
After finishing the Fever series, I intended to wait at least 6 months before reading this one - I managed a week and bought it in paperback (why isn't it on kindle in the UK? - Had it been on kindle I probably would have bought it 48 hours after finishing Shadowfever - That 'Buy It Now' button should be outlawed).

There's a lot of subtext in ICED. Yes, 80% is told through the eyes of 14 y/o Dani, and at times - her POV can be frustratingly naive. The way she views a post-apocalytpic Dublin is very different to Mac's - and if you're looking for the same Mac/Barron's experience - you won't find it between these pages. That's not necessarily a bad thing though.

There are a handful of other POV's thrown in, which manages to liven up and broaden the depth of ICED.

Having walked the path with Mac; we know Dani is going to undergo a similar metamorphasis but right now we're witnessing teenage-angst Dani. Think Pink-Mac - and then imagine what KMM can do with angsty-Dani...

It's going to be fantastic, and I'm honoured to be swept up and taken along for the ride.

(As cliffhangers go, the one ICED finishes on is lightweight; don't let the threat of a cliffhanger put you off reading).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Only BIG criticism that I have, is that the main character Dani, is Irish, Dublin born, no way would she be talking about, diapers (nappies) shopping carts (trollies) hot Flashes (Flushes) candy bars (chocolate) soda (pop) Consignment shops (Charity?)etc., can't get into thinking of her as being Irish, but American. LOTS of American terminology, which can be very annoying when reading about Dublin/Ireland! Other than that, it's a really great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£9.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here