Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2017
Really good book and the delivery was about a week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Good*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
Excellent. Clears away the fog surrounding screenplays. If you can't write a screenplay after this - give up. But, you will, it really sets the formulaic process out simply and cleanly, in a form you will understand. Of course, after that you only need a good story, but that is in the mind of the writer. I whole heartedly recommend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Please have a look at my other review on Syd Field. I am only into chapter three of this and corroborate what I said in other review. much of the info is repeated here but with slightly different emphasis and this is also written later I believe. A good book to have in your library of 'how to write'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Every Syd Field book is the same, in some respects. Syd was a master of repetition and metaphor. The beauty of this book is in the excercises that come at the end of each chapter, but be warned, this is not a paint-by-numbers screenwriting book. Each excercise takes at least a week or so of hard work. It works as a workbook, but think of it more as a semester long course than a way to finish your screenplay idea in a week. That said, if you need help writing a screenplay, this is the place to go. For those that don't like repetition as a means of learning, try Robert McKee instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
If you want to start to write screenplays then this book is essential reading. There are indeed other books and computer programmes on structure and characterisation and all the intricacies of the craft. Some are of mind-bending complexity, but none with the touch of Syd Field. At every stage he is there to help. From the lowest depths he is there to lift you up, whether from the terrors of an empty page or a little voice inside your head that is saying "this is rubbish". He is also there by your side when your ideas are flowing and everything seems good with advice on structure, coherence and polish. Yes, I give this book a big thumbs up!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
Sid Field is an internationally acclaimed screenwriter,producer author and consultant to most of the big film studio's and it is obvious by the quality and content of this book. Excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
knows his stuff inside out and backwards.easy to read,to follow and to understand.And get this,he's a yank from the home of bafflegab
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
A great example in itself of how to write clearly and concisely when you are trying to guide and teach.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
I bought this book to use in conjunction with a course I am taking at the moment, and I found the advice pretty useful in parts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)