Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 October 2017
Brilliantly helpful. Some similar material from previous works but ties it all together into a workbook you can write along with and it pushes you into creating and exploring within the craft. For a first time writer who’s just dipped his toe, it has helped me find structure to my writing whereas before I felt lost treading water in useful but overwhelming sea of knowledge.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2015
Every Syd Field book is the same, in some respects. Syd was a master of repetition and metaphor. The beauty of this book is in the excercises that come at the end of each chapter, but be warned, this is not a paint-by-numbers screenwriting book. Each excercise takes at least a week or so of hard work. It works as a workbook, but think of it more as a semester long course than a way to finish your screenplay idea in a week. That said, if you need help writing a screenplay, this is the place to go. For those that don't like repetition as a means of learning, try Robert McKee instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2016
Sid Field is an internationally acclaimed screenwriter,producer author and consultant to most of the big film studio's and it is obvious by the quality and content of this book. Excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2018
Useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2013
Please have a look at my other review on Syd Field. I am only into chapter three of this and corroborate what I said in other review. much of the info is repeated here but with slightly different emphasis and this is also written later I believe. A good book to have in your library of 'how to write'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2011
Excellent. Clears away the fog surrounding screenplays. If you can't write a screenplay after this - give up. But, you will, it really sets the formulaic process out simply and cleanly, in a form you will understand. Of course, after that you only need a good story, but that is in the mind of the writer. I whole heartedly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2018
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2011
If you want to start to write screenplays then this book is essential reading. There are indeed other books and computer programmes on structure and characterisation and all the intricacies of the craft. Some are of mind-bending complexity, but none with the touch of Syd Field. At every stage he is there to help. From the lowest depths he is there to lift you up, whether from the terrors of an empty page or a little voice inside your head that is saying "this is rubbish". He is also there by your side when your ideas are flowing and everything seems good with advice on structure, coherence and polish. Yes, I give this book a big thumbs up!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2014
A great example in itself of how to write clearly and concisely when you are trying to guide and teach.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2015
I like the book is useful for my work aim doing now, i like the exercise it real useful.
Very good customer i received item on time
Thanks,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse