Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9

on 7 April 2017
Very good condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2002
Flanagan's "U2 At The End Of The World" is an unmissable insight into four lads from Dublin who have become without doubt the biggest band in the world.
Starting in 1991, during the recording of Achtung Baby in the Hansa Studios in Germany and spanning the heights of the Zoo TV spectacle and the recording of Zooropa, this book is a condensed four-year look at the Irish band.
Unlimited access to the band, their staff and exclusive VIP areas means that Flanagan is always there to capture the action, adding his own unique and intelligent insights along the way. From the steamy stint between Adam Clayton and supermodel Naomi Campbell to Bono's alter-alias MacPhisto trying to phone the Pope!
This book has changed the way I think about the band, answered all the questions I wanted to ask and been all the places I wish I had been. If you are a U2 fan, you will love it. If you are a music lover of any kind, you will love it. An absolute must have!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2000
If you saw Zoo TV, this book will make complete sense to you! If not then you can catch up by reading it now! From the recording of Achtung Baby, right through the conception and realistaion of the Zoo TV tour, to the bitter end! I have often wondered how pop stars cope on the road, and this book brings you from the very highs to the deepest lows (Adam...need I say more). It has Glam and Sham. They are real people with loads of cash who are able to do what they want.
I couldn't put it down. Read it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2007
ALl the preceeding reviews are completely right about this book.

Written by a long-time friend of the band, the book is not as partial as it would seem at first. It covers the most complex chapter in the band's history and the range of subjects is considerable: Fame, music, evolution, politics, the music industry, bands problems, the show, the aftermath of the show and the tour, Bono, Adam, Edge, Larry, Paul; the show in Berlin, at the States, Dublin, Tv, the road...

You'll never get bored with this book. Even if you're not a U2 fan.

And if English is not your mother tongue (like in my case), you'll improve your level. No jokes on this last one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 1999
From the bad beginnnings of the Auctung Baby sessions to the glory of the zoo tv and zooropa tours, this books describes them all, following U2 wherever they go is Bill Flanagan and his pen and paper. Given unlimited access to the band and there history, he write the the perfect story, this book is one of the best around. A must buy if you are a serious U2 fan and want to see how things are really done!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2013
Bill Flanagan shows an inside look at U2 on the road - direct and personal. He is a very good writer. The way he writes makes you feel very close to 'the circus' that happens when U2 is on tour. There was a lot going on in 1992/1993 - U2 found a new direction and in their personal lives a lot happens too. It all comes together in this personal book. Especially I like his talking with Bono's father - Bob Hewson. Funny and also moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Read this book for the first time in 1995. Recently re read it again and it is still as good as ever. Really in-depth access ti the band during their Zoo TV era. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2016
Great book at a great price. Fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2011
perfect condition, my mum did purchese this as i am 16 so unable to buy till i am 18 but when dilvered i know she will love this for christmas as she is U2's biggest fan, thankyouu.. all raped up under the tree ready for her smile x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)