Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
Deeply insightful book that grips you from the very beginning. I had bought a paperback copy before and lost it. When I bought it this time from Amazon I was disappointed that it wasn't like small to medium sized paperback I had. Instead, it's quite large, the size of a colouring book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
The famous "follow your bliss" of course but so much more. Essential reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
mind blowing and easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
I first of all attempted to read Campbell's 'The Hero with a Thousand Faces' after a whole Religious Education unit surrounding it in the summer of last year. The information in the book was at first quite difficult to digest and hard to read (especially for a 14-year-old).

So, at Christmas I got 'The Power of Myth' and I have since been working my way through the book slowly and steadily as there is still a hell of a lot of knowledge to try and comprehend.

Campbell demonstrates his ability to generalise in 'The Power of Myth' as he includes many theories based on anthropology, theology, psychology, linguistics and many other ways of understanding. This is something that you get used to with time and can tolerate as the exceptional comparisons from Campbell are absolutely mind-blowing.

'The Power of Myth' is like opening so many different doors in your mind. It is thought-provoking, exciting and rigorous - something that I find especially intriguing. It is a great way to familiarise yourself with Campbell's views and I have used it as a stepping stone to finally finishing 'The Hero with a Thousand Faces'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 1998
One of the best books I've ever read. Campbell's insights and interpretations supercede religious doctrines, while fully respecting them. The conversational style of the book makes it a quick read. Bill Moyers' role should not be overlooked. His preparation was impeccable. A great follow-up Campbell book might be "Transformations of Myth Through Time," (ISBN 0-06-096463-4) consisting of 13 lectures. Again, Campbell brings out the similarities among cultures brilliantly and positively.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 1999
The book and the tapes on the power of myth are very interesting and interpret mythology and religion within the same paradigm and concepts - that myth flows from the contrary and contradictory stresses and strains of the body and society. The thesis is tightly explored by Campbell in numerous of his works and explains why he sometimes cannot explain (sorry) variations in conceptual problems among myths. Campbell had a tremendous impact on my study of comparative religion at university over 10 years ago, in a positive way, howver since then I've realized that his ideas are worn and flawed in many respects. Thinking outside of his parardigm of mythic evolution will raise many more questions than he attempts to answer. All in all I think Campbell is one of the greatest philosophers of comparative religion and mythology and someone who stood at a crossroads of academic insight over many decades.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 1998
Moyers and Campbell's conversation first aired on the PBS special: "The Power of Myth." The tapes capture the relaxed and entertaining essence of six programs: The Hero's Adventure; The Message of the Myth; The First Storytellers; Sacrifice and Bliss; Love and the Goddess; and Masks of Eternity. There is something very comforting in hearing Campbell's voice respond with ease to Moyers questions about myth: questions that anyone might ask. Campbell was a great storyteller, but it is his range of stories and depth of insightful interpretation that will keep the listener engaged - maybe awed. Taking place on George Lucas' Skywalker Ranch, "The Hero's Adventure" discussion has an interesting piece where Campbell laments the paucity of modern heroes and its consequences for adults and children alike. Then he relates the plot from the Lucas film "Stars Wars" with elements of the hero's journey; the listener can hear Campbell's optimistic excitement as he links the film's characters and plot to the Hero's rite of passage. The listener can sense Campbell's hope for future hero/heroine role models with universal appeal as his voice trys to keep pace with his thoughts. After listening to a tape individuals may feel a sense connectiveness to all that surrounds them: touched by the wisdom of myth. Campbell's words still echo in my ears, "If you follow your bliss . . .the life you ought to be living is the one you are living." For those who need to see the words and visually hold them in space and time, Moyers and Campbell's book "The Power of Myth" [edited by Flowers] provides the orginal PBS transcipt and additional material that was edited out. In addition to the six topics detailed on the tapes, the book includes the program on The Journey Inward.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
Firstly - for those that don't know who Campbell is, he has a wonderful, and in my opinion deserved, reputation that goes beyond his official field of anthropology. If you are interested in any kind of storytelling from movies to novels to fine art, this book is worth a good read. If you are interested in history, our common cultural heritage, Jung or just looking for a sense of wonder this book is worth a good read.

The book is beautifully Illustrated - containing many examples of great art from many different cultures. The book is a large (about A4 format) but well put together paperback. The content is in a question and answer format but, while the questions are short, the answers are extensive, interesting and use the questions as a launching point for further exploration of Campbell's knowledge and ideas. By perceptive use of this Q&A format the book manages to retain a sense of direction but keep that wonderful open feeling you get from an absorbing conversation.

The Campbell's incitful ideas about myths as well as various myths themselves are expounded in a way that captures Campbell's sense of passion and makes them easy to understand. This is a lot easier to understand than other, more academic, books that Campbell has written.

But the best thing about this book is just how incitful these myths and ideas are. I've owned this book for over 5 years and I can still pick it up, thumb through it, and find something that strikes me in a more profound way than before. The book is deeper than it appears.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2006
This book is an excellent primer for Campbell's more in-depth books "Hero with A Thousand Faces" and the Masks of God series.

Bill Moyers does get in the way of Campbell's message but this should not distract the reader from being encouraged to embrace a more balanced personal and cultural point of view. The journey is well worth the effort.

Other reviewers particularly "A reader" seem either not to have read the book or lack the courage to move on.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 1999
If you are open to the concept of all religions being wrong in the details but right in the underlying principle, this book is for you. If you are close-minded and need to keep your foundation unshaken, leave this book alone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)