Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2011
The first 5 volumes of Amber are very well executed. Zelnazy's complex characters and structured plots are engrossing. The only thing stopping me from rating the series higher is the departure, beginning in book 6 and continuing until the series conclusion, from the majority of the characters in the first 5 installments which made the series a joy to read. And while the protagonist of the second half of the series isn't deterring and Zelnazy's mastery is still present the plot deteriorates somewhat. The series would also have benefited from some editing, especially from book 6 onward, as Zelnazy tended to get lost in describing environment or the protagonist's introspections and theories which at times forced me to lose patience with the pacing of events. I won't give away anything but the end of the series wasn't particularly fulfilling considering the massive amount of character and plot intricacy required to get to that stage following book 6 which in hindsight, while expertly done, benefits mostly character development rather than concluding things on a large scale. In some ways the series isn't completely finished and I'm uncertain as to whether the author intended to continue the series in any meaningful manner before his death. The following 5 short stories are very short indeed offering but snippets of narration on the tail end of Book 10 containing but brief character interaction with hints at possible future plot developments.

The Chronicles of Amber is quite good for it's time and while it would struggle to contend with more modern fantasy it is definately worth a read. But would I revisit this series? - Probably not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2002
Viktoria
I read this book for the first time about 2 years ago and was immediatedly thrilled with the plot, as well as with its characters. As far as my knoledge brings me, the author posessed thorough? knowledge of Irish mythology, which gave him sourse for this unusual book and its heroes.
The most striking feature is that the book (in my opinion) has no other one to be compared with. It's not just another fantasy saga, but a whole real world, which catches your imagination, keeps your nerves strain and makes you follow every turn of the plot as if it was your real life.
Once you've read it - you will always want to return...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
Book 1 would get 5 stars all day long. Book 2 is a good book, 4 stars. Book 3... worth a read. The rest of the series go down hill rapidly. The author lost interest, the writing deteriorates, even the proof reader couldn't be bothered. There are some nice ideas in the remaining books, but poor writing, lazy plots, and endless repetitive riding through shadow ... a purple rock ... a yellow sky ... an old crow... a stand of trees ... more trees but taller ... etc etc etc.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
The first 3 books are available on Kindle so I was really disappointed to discover I would have to buy the entire set as one massive and heavy book to be able to read the rest of it. The 4 stars are for the contents of the book, not the physical object itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
Easy to get all 10 books in one - inside chapter artwork nice - Amazing story & mystery - a must read :) Bought as present (I own all ten & more than 1 x copies) then seeing it I cheekily got myself one. lol, very nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I thought this would be the biggest omnibus I had but no Terry Brooks The World and the Void beats this well by a little anyway. The beauty of the book is besides it great content and stories which have both humor and darkness in them the book can be read without creasing the spine as you would expect from such a big book, as its made to be flexible wuhooo. if this is your first foray into the mind of Zelazny you will not be disappointed, if you are a fan and for some reason come from another galaxy and missed the books of Amber well shame on you. Get reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2007
I started reading this as a teenager and still go back to it on a regular basis. The imaginative, quirky characters, the story, all are compelling and the volume has never really left my bedside.

I would recommend this anytime
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 October 2011
This is a set of ten amber novels in a single binding. The pages are necessarily thin, but still make it cumbersome.

The stories are well written fantasy about characters who are powerful, near deities, who can manipulate the worlds around them - the stories are reminiscent of some aspects of the matrix, but pre-date that film script and have more subtlety.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Wish there were some safe neurological procedure whereby selected memories can be erased, just so I can enjoy this series again... And again... And again!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
One of the great sets of sci fi fantasy ever. But where is the Kindle version of all this fabulous writer's books?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse