Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 13 July 2017
Times are hard for Elizabeth. Three younger siblings and no money. So when she finds a book in her employer's library on How to Marry a Marquis, she borrows it. The problem is that she tries to practice on the new estate manager. What could possibly go wrong? Well, this is Julia Quinn, so everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Another great read she really knows how to tell a story love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Hilarious.Smart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 1999
This is one of those books that you just can't put down until you read the final page. The characters are so realistic, it's almost like they are real people instead of characters in a book. The heroine, Elizabeth, is not a milk-water miss, but a woman with morals and ideals. She has raised her sisters and brother for five years since the death of her parents until circumstances force her to come to terms with the need to marry so her family won't go hungry. The lady she works for, Lady Danbury, takes things into her own hands by asking her favorite nephew to come to her, not as the Marquis of Riverdale, but as ordinary Mister James Sidwell, to solve a blackmail plot and to meet Elizabeth. When the Marquis found Elizabeth with the book "How to Marry a Marquis" he thinks at first he's been found out. Then he offers to help her to practice what she's read on him. The dilemma-she has fallen head over heels in love with James Sidwell, but when he is revealed to be the Marquis as well, she believes he has been making fun of her the entire time.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
This is another well-written, light-hearted novel from Julia Quinn. It is an easy and amusing read, although the plot is not deep or complex. But, there again, that is not necessary in a Regency Romance.

A favourite character of mine, Lady Danbury, is one of the stars of this story. She has called in her nephew, James Sidwell, Marquess of Riverdale, to look into possible case of blackmail. But he is to come incognito as her new farm steward. One of the first of his suspects is Miss Lizzie Hotchkiss, Lady Danbury's companion, as she has plenty of opportunity and also the motive, since she is struggling to keep herself and her three younger siblings on her companion's pay.

I won't go into any further details - read it and find out! But I thoroughly enjoyed it, and the book will go into my growing 'library' of Ms Quinn's novels, which I browse back into from time to time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
For starters I found the romance between the two unconvincing, it just didn't seem genuine & passionate enough for me and it didn't flow very well. It only got interesting towards the end (which is why it lost one star) otherwise, I loved the general plot, it was laugh out loud funny. It was also nice to see characters from the first book - Blake and Caroline - I think I prefer the first book. It's a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2017
I love the humour in the books contains Lady December, all of Quinn books have a delightful streak in them, this more than others. I dislike too much descriptive sex and that prevented this novel from getting 5 also at times it did meander. However on the whole an enjoyable book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
£1 40?! Does the author think that we made the currency decimal in the 1800s? There were 20 shillings to the pound and 12 pennies to the shilling so Lucas would have said £1 3/4d - one pound three and four. Lots of Americanisms, too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2016
How to Marry a Marquis, is a delightfully light, humorous, historical fiction novel; filled with witty dialogue and funny situations. I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse