Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
76
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2016
The controversial work from Simon is a valuable work for those able to progress beyond the fact that this is not the book to which Lovecraft refers.

Simon's work is clearly that of a scholar and his occult background shines. All magical work has a value once applied and the work laid out here is well structured and reasoned. By mentally disassociating the work from the Lovecraft mythos, the result is that you have a valuable occult work and treatise in your hands.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
As a Lovecraft fan, the book is not the best.
But I suppose there will never be one that Manages to capture Lovecrafts skill for horror.

Fiction aside, as a practicing occultist this book is an interesting form of magical practice.
However, I'm not sure it should have been titled the Necronomicon. All in all, a great book
but it just isn't Lovecraft.

I have editied this review, as i have seen much about its occult viabiltiy. All i will say is that there are a LOT of people out there, who do indeed practice this. Anyone and eveyone is entitled to their own opinion. But just remember before you comment that; it may not be your 'cup of tea' but that does'nt mean it is not a truly occult text. And remember, this is comment is coming from someone who does not find this text his 'cup of tea'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
For those who are considering the purchase of Avon Books Persudo-Necronomicon (Necronomicon literately translates as 'An Image of the Law of the Dead') by Simon (and those who have already got a copy - I am not going to cover old ground debating is the 'Necro' a fictitious literature creation of Lovecraft - yes it is - or a 'ancient' magickal grimoire - no it isn't) you should be informed that the 'Seven gates' ritual/working presented in the 'Simononicon', is basically based on a basic combination of 'PLANATERY MAGICK' and 'ASCENT' rituals, given a mishmash of basic Babylonian and Akkadian aesthetics, and Lovcraftian imaginary (Cthulhu Mythos).

The Seven planets or celestial spheres (known to our ancestors were Venus, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn and the Sun and Moon, yes the ancients considered the sun and moon as planets) are often used to describe the stages of the soul's asension to the Heavens also known to the Babylonians as the Underworld, there is a conflation of the idea of the Underworld with the skies above the world in Sumerian/Babylonian religion, the point in the heavens that was 'Heaven' was in the direction of the seven stars of the 'Uras Major' or to you and me 'The Big Dipper', the axis mundi, Heaven/Underworld were effectively one and the same thing, to the Sumerians and Babylonians there was no heaven and hell these are later Judaic Christian concept.

In some Gnostic traditions, the planetary deities are viewed as Archons(overlords) controlling the seven planetary heavens (the Seven planets). These Judaic Christian Archons were dualistic in nature they are on the one hand the Angels (seven spiritual virtues) and there dualistic counterparts the Archons (seven material aspects) the combination of these two were/are called Archangels in Judaic Christian tradition. The term angel derives from a Greek translation of the original Hebrew 'mal'akh' which originally meant the 'Shadow side of God' and latter came to mean a messenger. this derivation offers a clue to the original nature of angels, 'messenger' implies a function or status but they are rather an essence, there inherent nature can not be separated from God because they are part of the quintessence of God. Check out Angels: An Endangered Species and give a look to Inner Christianity: A Guide to the Esoteric Tradition (they were known in the ancient Egyptian tradition as 'The Watchers' to the Sumerians and Babylonians they were the Sebittu (the seven) later known in middle-Babylonian times as Igigi (great gods)used to refer to the gods of heaven collectively, just as the term Anunnakku was used to refer to the gods of the underworld Gods, Demons and Symbols of Ancient Mesopotamia: An Illustrated Dictionary)you should also check out Babylonian Star-lore. An Illustrated Guide to the Star-lore and Constellations of Ancient Babylonia the The Magician's Companion: A Practical and Encyclopedic Guide to Magical and Religious Symbolism (Llewellyn's Sourcebook) is another helpful guide.

The Simonomicon is basically based/inspired by the 'Merkabah' school of Judaic mysticism (which was considerably influenced by Greek Gnostic doctrines), in which planetary deities take the form of Archangels. These seven archangles guard the 'Gates' of the 'Hekeloth' which must be passed in order to asend to the heavenly throne of 'Merkabah'. In both the Gnostic and Hebrew treditions, the seeker was required to possess magical seals (containing the secret names of God) allowing passage through each planetary gate. Each seal was considered to represent a particular attainment or initiation. Read the companion volume The Gates of the Necronomicon, along with Peter Levenda's Stairway to Heaven an excellent introduction to ascent rituals in world spiritual literature (Levenda reveals a consistent emphasis on the number seven and its association with heavenly themes, he examines the myths and rituals of Egypt, Sumer and Babylon to locate the origin of the ascent phenomenon and comes up with some surprising results in the 'ascent' rituals of the middle east. Shifting to the far east, Levenda demonstrates how the mystical practices of China and India display important similarities to these rituals, most notably in the practices of the Chinese alchemists who used a map of seven stars as their ladder to heaven). Check out Dark Lord: H.P. Lovecraft, Kenneth Grant and the Typhonian Tradition in Magic (Monografas a) by Peter Levenda as well.

Now BE WARNED there are big problems written into the Simonomicon rituals, DO read Necronomicon Files: The Truth Behind the Legend there are mistakes, some may be innocent and some apparently appear to be on purpose, the Necronomicon in lovecraft fiction is an malign malevolent book that never offers the protagonist power or wealth only death (physical and spiritual)by the great old ones, so this might be why the books rituals have them in it, to keep with the lovecraftian feel and to give the practitioner a bad trip so to speak, pit falls the seeker who attempts to practice this work, will have to overcome, basically DUE DILIGENCE is required - some of these mistakes are revealed in the Necronomicon Files book, a understanding of Babylonian mythology is a must, check the Simononicons bibliography and perhaps you can turn the rituals into an assent to the heavens (achieving spiritual immortality and godhood)as apposed to a journey to the underworld(spiritual death, could it tear your soul apart?)

The other modern Persudo-Necronomicon you should definitely check out are Donald Tyson'sGrimoire of the Necronomicon (a real workable manual of magick) and its companions 'The 13 Gates of the Necronomicon: A Workbook of Magic' with the 'Pseudonomicon' by Phil Hines along side the 13 Gates of the Necronomicon you can effectively create your own Necro that wont eat your face off. 'Necronomicon Tarot' (along with 'Portable Magic: Tarot Is the Only Tool You Need') and his fictions 'Necronomicon: The Wanderings of Alhazred' and 'Alhazred: Author of the Necromonicon'. The Tyson persudo-Necronomicon is generally thought to be closer to Lovecraft's vision than other published versions.

Lets not forget everyone's favourite FAUX (i.e fake ) pretendenomicon's (the best homage to lovecrafts necronomicon of all the bunch is) 'The Necronomicon: Or the Book of Dead Names' (Skoob Esoterica)(this hoax version of the Necronomicon, edited by George Hay, appeared in 1978 and included an introduction by the paranormal researcher and writer Colin Wilson who expertly interwove fact and fiction in his introduction. David Langford described how the book was prepared from a computer analysis of a discovered "cipher text" by Dr. John Dee. The resulting "translation" was in fact written by Occultist Robert Turner, but it was far truer to the Lovecraftian version than the Simon text and even incorporates quotations from Lovecraft's stories in its passages. (Wilson also wrote a story, "The Return of the Lloigor", in which the very real 'Voynich' manuscript turns out to be a copy of the Necronomicon, you may find 'The Voynich Manuscript: The unsolved riddle of an extraordinary book which has defied interpretation for centuries by Gerry Kennedy' interesting) and Robert Turners sequel 'The R'lyeh Text' (Skoob Esoterica) (found on Amazon under the author Patricia Shore) and the final Pretendenomicon we will look at written in fake persudo arabic - "Duriac," a nonexistent language, supposedly descended from Akkadian - is 'Al Azif: The Necronomicon' [Written in Arabic] by L. Sprague de Camp. This book was original published in a limited hardcover edition for one main reason: to get the Library of Congress to catalogue it and Therefore an official library record came into existence for the NECRONOMICON. The acute and astute reader will of course take these last three books as part of the 'Expanded Fictional Lovcraftian Cthulhu Mythos Universe' they are obviously not (and were never have meant to be taken for) the real thing.

You will also find various copies/versions of previous Necronomicon's ('The Sussex Manuscript', 'Necronomicon:The Dee Translation' etc) in 'The Necronomicon' by Robert M. Price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
I bought this book after me and my friends watched Night of the Demons 2 (which is stupid but at the same time awesome by the way). Me being a rank amateur started reading from the book aloud... Long story short I now have an interdimensional vortex in the corner of my kitchen which I have no idea how to close! Don't get me wrong it has it's uses, I am currently using it as a dustbin and enjoy scaring my girlfriend with it. If anyone has any idea though how to close this infernal thing that would be great for I have no wish to be Bruce Campbell'd back to medievil times and as I dont posses a chainsaw for a hand or aquire the DIY skills to construct a death machine, I dont think I would last very long (anyone who doesn't understand that referance should be ashamed of themselves by the way!) Thanks : )
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2004
The Book of necronomicon is a fascinating read, truely wonderful, it talks of beings that which we cannot comprehend and has the ability to instill pure fear into you, if you beleive it to be completely true.
It really doesn't lead anywhere, or have any overall goal that i have seen, yet it still provides an interesting read, even as skeptical as i am, i must admit that even i was drawn into the world that the author talks of, and of course the mad arab.
The book itself describes rituals and experiences the mad arab and author himself has had, and although it contains some essence of a horror story, it could possibly be true, depends on how far your willing to bend your reality.
Overall, an interesting read, worth your money to say the least, gives spells and other information for the occultist, or those even interested in mythology.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
This book was bought as a spur of the moment purchase, intended to provide a greater understanding of lovecraft and insight into the dreaded book he mentions so often in his work.

The book reads very strangely and doesn't really give you much insight into anything, the language proves difficult at times and constantly throws dizzying amounts of strange pronounced names of demons and other higher entities at you (BURDISHU, DUMUDUKU, IRKINGU just to name a few). Their was a crazy amount of ritualistic rules for each of the "zonei" which become tedious to read very quickly "can only use the stone at night, with the blood of a panda, near a cow, in the library, with a candlestick".........snooze.

What i did like about the book was its intended occult feel and the way it was laid out, the first section of book which almost seems to say stop reading danger awaits. I especially liked the banishings sections, you know just in case......

This wasn't my cup of tea but i would say if you are interested in the (fake) occult then it might be worth a go. If like me you just read every now and again i suggest just picking up a lovecraft book instead, or you may accidentally invoke something beyond our comprehension.

Peace out
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
There are some really dumb people here believing that this book has something to do with Lovecraft. It isn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Awful awful awful. Being a 5th degree magician this is awful. Stick to summoning crowleys funny demons as they actually appear. Message me if you know my email if not post yours and I will train you how to really summon the death.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I thought this would refer to the real history of Satanism etc. Not a bit of it. Fiction from beginning to end! Aviod!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2007
This book was not written by H.P. Lovercarft and nor is it some ancient tale of ghoulishness. The original Necronomicaon was a fictional book described by H.P. Lovecraft in his short story The Hound, and later in The Nameless City. Other authors latterly mentioned it with Lovecraft's approval.

There have also been several hoaxes over the years, including this very book by 'Simon' in the 70's. Although this version by Simon, and its subsequent sequels, has little in common with Lovecrafts original Mythos. Robert Turner wrote a version that is far closer to Lovecraft's original descriptions.

I'll give this book 4 Stars as it's a decent hoax and pretty creepy read. The fact that there are people convinced of Necronomicons existence as a real ancient book almost one hundred years later would, I'm sure, make Lovecraft happy.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)