Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 July 2017
For grandchildren
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
my grandson loves books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
This book arrived and I am very disappointed. It is in such an awful condition it is sopping wet and most of the pages were ripped. I won't be using this product and I sadly feel like I've wasted my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 July 2015
Grandma tells a tale about a good little wolf (eats his veg, nice to his friends)... and the day he meets a big bad wolf who says he's not a 'real' wolf. Good little wolf tries to do as he's told, but will he turn to the 'dark side'?

My son loved the way the story turned, and we both loved the final twist as well, as the reader at the end of the book is not the one who started the tale...

Very funny, with some endearing drawings (and not too scary wolves either). Easy to read and a great bedtime choice for 3-6 year olds.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 July 2015
Grandma tells a tale about a good little wolf (eats his veg, nice to his friends)... and the day he meets a big bad wolf who says he's not a 'real' wolf. Good little wolf tries to do as he's told, but will he turn to the 'dark side'?

My son loved the way the story turned, and we both loved the final twist as well, as the reader at the end of the book is not the one who started the tale...

Very funny, with some endearing drawings (and not too scary wolves either). Easy to read and a great bedtime choice for 3-6 year olds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 July 2015
Grandma tells a tale about a good little wolf (eats his veg, nice to his friends)... and the day he meets a big bad wolf who says he's not a 'real' wolf. Good little wolf tries to do as he's told, but will he turn to the 'dark side'?

My son loved the way the story turned, and we both loved the final twist as well, as the reader at the end of the book is not the one who started the tale...

Very funny, with some endearing drawings (and not too scary wolves either). Easy to read and a great bedtime choice for 3-6 year olds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 June 2011
From the first page, where Mrs Boggins is telling a story to Rolf (the good little wolf), Little Red Riding Hood and the three little pigs, my children were entranced. Rolf enjoys doing 'good' things - like baking cakes, hearing stories and playing with his friends. However, Mrs Boggins warns him that not all wolves are good. Some, indeed, are Big and Bad. When Rolf runs into a Big Bad Wolf in the woods he attempts to prove he really IS a wolf by trying to blow the little pigs house in and howl at the moon, to no avail. Rolf takes the Big Bad Wolf back to Mrs Boggins house, where they try to make him see the error of his ways. This is a very amusing book, with fantastic illustrations - worth the price for the picture where Rolf first meets the Big Bad Wolf in my opinion, which had my children giggling for ages. However, it is worth pointing out that the ending is not the tradional happy one and the Big Bad Wolf does triumph over poor, unsuspecting Rolf. This did not bother my own children, but if you feel yours will be upset by a twist in the tale, then you might want to bear that in mind. Overall, though, a fine debut from an author I hope we hear a lot more from.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
Superficially this is the story of Rolf, a good little wolf who tries hard to persuade the bad wolf that badness isn't an intrinsic part of wolfhood, and that it's possible - indeed desirable - to both a wolf *and* good; only for the big bad wolf to rather assertively display that, perhaps, badness is indeed a big part of the wolf thing.
I think that's a very trite description of the book. I think this is actually a deconstruction of Mrs Boggins's psyche. Her super-ego is labelled Mrs Boggins, her ego as Rolf and the Big Bad Wolf is her id. We now see the book for what it really is - a woman struggling to control her monstrous desires. Sure, her ego can temporarily tie it up, or sate it with cake, but ultimately her needs and desires are too much for her to control. Not even with a nice cup of tea.
Great book, not suitable for children, although for the record my 3 and 6 year olds were entirely unconcerned with the ending.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
My 3 year old daughter loves this book, wanting it every night for a couple of weeks! It's great for challenging children about what they think will happen next and really good for encouraging questionning. Illustrations add to the story - in fact, my daughter immediately spotted 2 pages without and text and wondered why. She then realised that the pictures told the story! Fabulous ending too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
So there you are of a bed time, reading this book for the first time to the little 'uns, enjoying the distinctive, stylish illustrations and the references to nursery rhymes and other children's stories which work seamlessly with the narrative, when all of a sudden - BAM - the ending is not at all quite what you had been expecting. And at first you think, 'gosh'! But then you smile to yourself, and then perhaps you might laugh a little, or even quite alot. Very amusing indeed. Every child should read this story - and every parent should have this on the bookshelf for when Mummy/Daddy needs cheering up after a long, hard day!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hey, Presto!
£5.06

Need customer service? Click here