Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Good story that talks about feelings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2007
Naomi and Ely have grown up across the hall from each other in their Manhattan apartments. They have been together forever and know every detail about each other. Naomi knows that she and Ely will grow up to be married, have children, and live happily ever after.

Even if Ely is gay.

However, as many of us find out, life rarely turns out the way people plan. Parents don't always stay married, we don't always marry the person we love the most, people don't always keep promises, boys don't always love girls, and soul mates don't really exist. No matter how much you think they do. No matter how desperately you want them to. Life just doesn't happen that way. And really, should it?

This story is told in chapters of varying points of view. Your heart races, it aches, and it loves while you are brought into the world of lovable but flawed characters.

One of the biggest questions that comes up again and again is: How does one go on with life when everything they once knew and once planned on is no longer possible?

Reviewed by: Dianna Geers
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
This is another one of those that has been on my TBR for a while now, I even have 2 copies of it, that's how much I wanted to read it, but I really struggled with this book and I feel a little let down by these characters. I have loved everything else that I've read by these two authors and so I really thought I was going to love this one. Plus this book is set in New York, probably one of my all time favourite settings. Whilst there was definitely some interesting description of the Washington park area and the Waverly Place area, it was a little lacking in the Big Apple for me.

I found the range of characters quite difficult to follow. There are an abundances of Bruces which meant I had trouble keeping up with them and then there are various love interests and friends of Naomi and Ely to keep track of too and I just wasn't sure who I was supposed to be liking and who I wasn't. The main characters themselves strike me as entitled brats. Now I'm not the type of person who has to like a character to be able to think a book is wonderful. Those characters we love to hate are just as much fun as those we want to keep as our best friends, but when you're trying to vouch for someone to get you through a book but both main character rub you up the wrong way because they are so needy and bitchy and unforgiving, then there's a little bit of a problem.

Obviously I loved the high level of Starbucks in this book, that was a definite plus for me. I like the fact that Naomi has visited lots of Starbucks and there's a whole chapter entitle Starbucks that lists what she likes about them. I like that the whole thing starts with her waiting for Ely in a Starbucks but I don't think I would recommend this book to people based on just that fact. On the whole I really struggled with this book but I'm hoping that I will find out a little more about these characters by watching the film which I am about to do now. Not a book for me and not something I would recommend you read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Review also available on my blog: http://readingismycupoftea.tumblr.com/post/93318703791/review-naomi-and-elys-no-kiss-list-by-rachel-cohn-and

Hi guys!

If you’ve read my review of another book by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, then you’ll understand that I went into this book with a bit of trepidation. I found the style of Nick and Norah’s Infinite playlist tricky to read and hard to understand and I was worried that this book would have the same style. However, immediately once I began reading I feel right into the style. The use of emoticons I found really reflected this teenage generation obsession of technology. The style was easy to read and felt like I was in the heads of each of these characters, who all have problems, like everyone does. Also, I thought the use of several different points of view might make the reader feel distant from the characters but I enjoyed the different perspectives on the same situations. It gives the reader deep insights into many characters, and I found the development of every character very refreshing, rather than just the main characters and the background ones.

I loved the plot of this book. It dealt with some really interesting ideas. Naomi being in love with Ely but Ely being gay and kissing her boyfriend and how their friendship changes. The character development through this plot is superb. And because Naomi and Ely’s friendship is such a big thing that it affected everyone in their building and their general vicinity, it is wonderful seeing the development of all the characters.

For a short read this book had great pacing as well, wasn’t too rushed or too slow. I felt as if everything happened as it should have done and the ending didn’t feel odd or unexpected.

Overall, this was a lovely short book about friendships, relationships and coming of age. A gorgeous contemporary read.

4 stars.

What did you think of this book? :)

-Molly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
I was looking forward to reading Naomi & Ely's No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan simply for the authors. I wasn't too sure if I liked the sound of it, though. I was a little worried. Sounded a little similar to Pretty Things by Sarra Manning, and although I enjoyed that, I didn't really need another one. However, I fell completely in love with this story, and got so much more from it than I expected. I should have known better, I guess.

Naomi and Ely are best friends. Naomi is also in love with Ely, but Ely is gay. Then Ely kisses - and then steals - Naomi's boyfriend, Bruce. Naomi is beyond hurt. But it's not so much that Ely stole her boyfriend, but rather the fact that because of him stealing her boyfriend, she's finally realised there will never be a Naomi and Ely.

This is a book about friendship. How many YA novels about friendship are there? But of all the one's I've read - and this may be to do with Levithan and his (yes, I will say it again) absolutely beautiful way with words - this is the one that is going to stick out in my mind from this point on as being the one that really gets it. I am an adult that reads YA, and I know from when I was a teenager, you have all these friends and they're amazing, and they mean everything to you at the time, but as you get older, things change, people change, and you may not fall out, but you just don't quite fit anymore. BUT this is the first friendship I've read in a YA/new adult novel that I feel, at it's heart, is an ageless friendship. A friendship that is, no matter what the friends' ages. I really identified with the importance and depth of their friendship, if not the characters.

It is, of course, also about unrequited love. The general story I didn't relate to, but this element I did. Though I do feel that Naomi was a little naive about it all. I know love makes you hopeful, but she's in a completely hopeless situation, so how she was able to delude herself into thinking there was hope, I don't quite get. She's not a child. It did make me feel sorry for her, though, because when she finally realised, oh my god, so much heartache. I wasn't her biggest fan, I felt she had a bit of an attitude, and she didn't always treat people nicely, but I was intrigued by her and sympathised. It was interesting to see where the story took her.

Bruce was straight until Ely. He has his own little story going on. The focus is mostly on Naomi and Ely, but there are other little stories for the other characters too, and Bruce gets his own. And he's confused and unsure - not about his sexuality, though that has come as quite a bit of a shock - but about Ely. He feels what he feels, but he's not quite sure if he and Ely are right. He feels Ely is out of his league, and they're such different people. Bruce is insecure, and Ely is confident, especially in his sexuality, which just heightens Bruce's insecurity. I did want to give him a hug so many times and tell him to stop thinking, but his worries did make him endearing - which was necessary, because the guy did cheat on his girlfriend, and he wasn't doing so good in my books.

Naomi & Ely is a really melancholic book, but beautiful with it. It makes you hurt, but a good kind of hurt, a hurt that matters, because their friendship matters and it just <i>can't</i> be over! It's brilliant in all it's sadness, and I absolutely loved it. I do so hope Cohn and Levithan write more books together, because their's is a perfect partnership.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
Interesting read.....slightly put off by the emoticons used instead of actual words, but a great story of love, and growing up. I actually watched the film adaptation and found it ok.....the main characters were a bit one dimensional. Reading the book is so much better, as both Naomi and Ely are more rounded, and (not to give away too much away) I felt Naomi actually changed for the better, whereas in the film, she seemed to have learned nothing. If you love books (before they become films) this is one to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
I have loved reading David Levithans book since I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson and I have loved every one that I have read and this book is no exception. It is written very well and it made me feel a wide range of emotions. I would highly recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
You should definitely get this book it is fantastic!! It is funny but also sad. It is about love and friendship and the crazyness of it all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
Doesn't have the same intensity as Nick and Norah but a great read still. I dashed through it in a few days recommend reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Thanks and Great!! service. Would defo recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse