Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
Don't be put off by it's "all ages" presentation. This book is a fantastic resource for anyone who is serious about learning dinosaur evoltuion and what really makes a dinosaur a dinosaur as opposed to a pterosaur, or a plesiosaur (which aren't dinosaurs at all).

Lavishly illustrated, it covers every phylogenetic dinosaur group with a history of paleontology and natural history in general thrown in aswell as extinction, a coverage of the mesozoic period and the dinos eventual extinction (except the birds that is). Though at times the writing style may comes across as being aimed at children (which it partly is) the information is all very scientific and will rarely leave the reader wanting. However if you're after hard anatomical study then it's probably not technical enough for you.

I bought this to reinvograte a childhood obsession and what I've come away with after reading it is a renewed wonderment and appreciation of these bizarre and wonderful animals and the birds who continue their legacy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
One of my finer dinosaur books in my collection. Very up to date with the latest discoveries which is accompanied with vast amounts of information. Vividly illustrated and well composed. A must have for any dinosaur enthusiast.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 March 2016
The illustrations were excellent, very bright and colourful. It had information from all sorts of experts from the field of palaeontology. The author gave insight into all aspects of work related to dinosaur science and covered nearly everything my 13 year old wanted to know and a lot more. She enjoyed reading this over a whole month when a book usually only lasts a couple of days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2008
I am not a paleontologist (obviously). I am not, truth be told, even a dinosaur fanatic. What I am is a reader who is always looking to extend my knowledge base on interesting subjects, and this dinosaur encyclopedia fulfills that quest in spades!

Everything you could ever want to know about dinosaurs -- all types, all genuses, all sizes and shapes and colors -- is detailed, extensively, within the pages of DINOSAURS. There are wonderful illustrations by Luis V. Rey, timelines, graphs, rock cycles, detailed drawings of skeletons -- you name it, and this book has it. With an appendix that includes a 48-page Dinosaur Genus List and a Glossary of hundreds of terms, this is pretty much the only encyclopedia on dinosaurs that you're ever going to need.

I'm sure that some scientifically-minded people will yearn to find something that is missing, and they may even find it. But for the general dinosaur lover, this is definitely the book to add to your collection. Although the reading level is too advanced for younger children, those over the age of eight will find plenty to keep them interested and entertained.

DINOSAURS is highly recommended for classroom and home libraries, or as the perfect present for that dinosaur crazy kid on your gift list.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
This is a very good book, that explains what paleontologists know about dinosaurs and how they know it. Dinosaurs are sorted according to their genetic tree, and the book explains their life style of the dinosaurs in the different families. For example an entire chapter is dedicated to Tyrannosauroids and another to Deinonychosaurs.These chapters would explain what niche these particular dinosaurs filled out, their life stages and so on.

It is written in a very fluent language, that makes reading it very easy. Every now and then there is a page with a small essay about a particular dinosaur. Fx eating habits of an allosaurus or something like that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Bought for 12 year old who's ambition is to be a palaeontologist he saw this book in school library and wanted one of his own it was well priced and good fast delivery
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
This is a great book especially if you like your dinosaurs bright and colourful. It's well written and beautifully illustrated and a decent length as well. I recommend this too anybody keen to get into dinosaurs as well as more seasoned dinosaurs fans wishing to bring their knowledge up to date.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
This book has interesting illustrations and good text. At the end of the book there is a dinosaur genus list with short descriptions, very useful. Could have more skeletal drawings of dinosaurs (I expected that from Encyclopedia).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I was recommended this book, and it is certainly unique ! It gives a thorough introduction, but easy to understand, with gorgeous illustrations, and lots of additional expert articles. Again and again it makes difficult subjects obvious. For instance "....the Atlantic ocean gets wider at about the rate your fingernails grow!"
The perfect book for anybody who wants to know about dinosaurs :-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
My grandson asked me if he could have this wonderful book for his 8th birthday. When it arrived ,very promptly,&beautifully packed, I knew he would be delighted.he loved it, the illustrations are beautiful & the content very interesting, written in a way that makes people want to go on reading whatever their age. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here