Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 7 February 2002
Billy Collins is a wonderful poet, but anyone who has read "Taking Off Emily Dickinson's Clothes", Collins' first book published in UK, and is thinking of buying this book in the hope of another large and joyous dose of this writer is in for a disappointment as the content is very largely the same as "Emily Dickinson". There are a few new poems, such as the marvellous "Introduction to Poetry" but readers should be aware of the general similarity between the two volumes. However, if you're new to Billy Collins, buy this book! All these poems are accessible and unpretentious. Billy Collins is a poet who can be light-hearted and humorous, but never trivial; serious and profound, but never pompous.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
I was given a copy of this and loved it so bought one for a good friend who is now a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
My review concerns not the quality of Billy Collins's poetry, because it is unquestionably marvellous.
I was stupid enough to select this book by the photograph shown here, failing to notice the small words at the bottom, " not actual cover".
Therefore, imagining 'library cover' to be the same as this issue I ordered a copy to give as a gift.

I am profoundly disappointed in the plasticky hardback which has shown up; unimpressed by the whole look and feel of it, and am going to go to a real bookshop to choose something far more special.

Caveat emptor maybe, but I think this image is misleading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
When it comes to poetry, Billy Collins has a wonderful way with words, stories, images and deep insights. He is truly a worthy Poet Laureate who always succeeds in getting the reader's mind challenged and stimulated. His poems describe these everyday episodes by viewing them with an original perspective.
Let's look for instance at a few verses from "Walking Across The Atlantic".

"But for now I try to imagine what
this must look like to the fish below
the bottoms of my feet appearing, disappearing."

Who would wonder about how the fish perceive ones feet appearing and disappearing in the water? Bill Collin does, and it is wonderful to follow his thought here and think about the fish's perception.

Here's how the poem, Nostalgia, goes. We all recognize such similar nostalgic moments. But how original that Bill Collins is referring to another time or incarnation, though he still means this lifetime. The images are also exquisite of course.

"Remember the 1340's? We were doing a dance called the Catapult.
You always wore brown, the color craze of the decade,
and I was draped in one of those capes that were popular,
the ones with unicorns and pomegranates in needlework.
Everyone would pause for beer and onions in the afternoon,
and at night we would play a game called "Find the Cow."
Everything was hand-lettered then, not like today."

As a lover of poetry I am always fascinated by how other writers are able to stir the emotions through simple observations and reflections. "Sailing alone around the room" is a journey that makes the reader enter the poem from one place and leave it from another. The experience is transformational, unpredictable and enriching.
I highly recommend this book.

Joyce Akesson, author of Majnun Leyla: Poems about Passion, The Invitation and Love's Thrilling Dimensions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Get this book if you want to laugh, cry, dream and try to make sense of the world through the eyes and words of a genius.
I keep this near me at all times...just lying around on the table, sofa, bedroom...i pick it up and randomly read...my old favourites and new pieces in equal measure.
It's worth it for 'another reason i don't keep a gun in the house' alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Billy Collins is amazing and this collection is delightful - wise and funny. A great collection for people who don't "understand" poetry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Billy Collins is a late 20th/early 21st century Robert Frost. His poems convey with quirky brilliance a sense of the New England landscape in which he lives. He tells wry little anecdotes about himself and his day. The mix of wisdom, humour and pitch-perfect choice of vocabulary, and the varied discipline of his verse form, make a poem from this collection the perfect way to begin and end each day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
Billy Collins is America's best selling living poet but barely known in in Britain. I recommend his poetry to everyone, even those who do not normally read poetry. Each poem is a gem. Smiles and tears are guaranteed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
You need to read these poems in quiet , reflective moments. I did, and enjoyed them, read some to my husband.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Excellent mixture of pathos and humour. I really enjoy his wirk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse